You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hardfork 21 - Steem Proposal System (SPS) + Economic Improvement Proposal (EIP)

in #hf215 years ago (edited)

Sorry, the solution of increasing curation rewards just doesn't make sense if what you want is more engagement.

Very few stakeholders are spending time looking for quality contributions to reward.

If you want this to happen you must link payout to engagement and for EVERYONE. Assign an engagment quotient. A perfect score would be 1. So if you want to obtain your payout and all of it, you need a perfect EQ. Your EQ is earned through varied engagement, that is not just with upvoting a handful of accounts. This means that if I use a bid-bot, I am only half way to getting a payout. Now I must engage on the platform and upvote various other people. Or in the very least upvote and engage with the comments on my post.

The solution of giving more in curation rewards will do NOTHING. No, probably the opposite of improving engagement. If I am only upvoting myself, do I care if it comes through author rewards or curating rewards. NO. I get curation rewards from upvoting my own posts too and the bulk of it if I am large account. This will not encourage engagement and will likely drive smaller accounts to blockchains that have the very system we used to have. And bidbots will now receive a larger share of curating rewards too.

Go back to the drawing board. Increasing curating rewards is not the solution.

Sort:  

Hey Pryde, I really believe that MEOS will offer us a viable alternative. I may be fanboying too much, but I think Dan has had time to see what happened to his creation here, and how to make it better. We should know more on June 1 :D

Thank you for your response, Paul. But I will not be going over to EOS.I think steemit and the steem blockchain overall is an extremly good place and do not believe EOS will do any better. Vote buying will simply occur off-platform and in the shadows, so only those connected will have access to it. That is human nature and those hawking EOS now are not really on my side but the side of making profit. It would be naive to think otherwise. I have invested both time and money and making the change will mean an investment of even more time and money with no guarantee it will be any better. You brought me over to steem in the first place. Remember.

Perhaps when we are left with only those who are all pulling in the same direction, the long run success of steem, we can make the changes needed to make the steem blockchain a even better place. Move over to EOS if you want, but stop trying to burn down the place before you leave. Will Ya. You got friends here, man. You are hurting us too. Some of us are truly trying to build something great with steem.

I flag trash (and morons). You have received a flag.