You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hard Fork 23 Rising Sun - SOS! - Save Our Steem! 🆘

in #hf234 years ago

I hear ya. Not talking about a contentious fork tho. This would still be Steem.

This is only in place as a contingency for the witnesses if they suspect a hostile takeover is imminent. That would be something that Top 20 would judge.

As long as we don't see StInc voting witnesses, think we don't have anything to worry about otherwise I would be a bit nervous.

Sort:  

I have no problem with them using the stake they purchased to vote with.

It's a DPOS system and they bought the stake.

By your definition... What is Steem? A name? A group? Code? The Community?

Honestly I've only had engagement with a few of our witnesses... What exactly are we fighting for or against

Oh btw, I'm scoping our their GitHub and not seeing any mention of Steem. I also looked into their token protocol. It's uses Solidity just like Ethereum so I'm not really sure how that would work. Also, Steem is C++. Tron is Java. I doubt that porting everything we can do on Steem to a completely different language would turn out.

It's like recreating a wheel. To be honest, it's like we are getting ready to take a step backwards for a Steem Tron token when we should be moving forward with innovations (SMTs?) / cost reduction mechanisms for Steem. Is this really good for us?

Edit: They also have Python, PHP plugins but not seeing C++ anywhere. I don't think it's gonna be an easy port. This just doesn't make a lick of sense to me but what do I know.

they do not have a plan. Eli said yesterday the engineers had never met yet.

it's unlikely they will move steem to tron anytime soon. Will likely treat it as a sidechain, named Steem.

It was mostly the token swap thing. Seemed like a red flag. Maybe Justin just didn't think it through in terms of how connected we are to our chain.

If the majority stakeholders interest is in another chain, I am slightly concerned about a conflict of interest. It's just a lot to process rn. Not sure what to think @whatsup