School Daze

in #highered6 years ago (edited)

A degree is a wedge, a door stop. A stone to stand on, but a porous one that disintegrates over time. As water rushes under the bridges of friendship and circumstance, a degree depreciates, erodes.

I walk in June. I graduate with a Master's Degree. I cower from the staunch reality that I must parlay my credentials into a career path or at least a quasi lucrative job instantly. Primarily to whittle away at the mountain of debt I have accrued. Secondly, to stop the rash of gap years and hiatuses that have made my resume a holey mess.

It's an investment of time and money that is becoming more of a crap shoot than a tool for advancement in American society.

Thoughts on facing the light? Paths to repayment? Tips on earning on the heels of advanced learning?