You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Preparing meat for 7 days hike.

in #hiking6 years ago (edited)

My english may come very to short to give a good answer. I use only fresh vegetables and they have the same calories and nutrients as fresh. Only the water is taken away. To store meat (don't get harsh) it must be as little fat as possible. The ground beef has 5% fat, 240 calories pr 100 gram (3,5 ounce). After frying I rinse in hot water to get the fat away. The chicken have I only fried in a pan and dried, calories as fresh. We will also have beef steak, with as little fat as possible (only water is taken away). I have oil/butter with me when hike to get fat. Other than that it have the same calories as fresh food.

I have also dried potatoes in slices, mashed potatoes, dried rice (cooked first an ready to eat at 5 min.) and pasta. Im not an expert but as far as I know the nutritional value is as fresh. You will need a stove/pirmus to heat the food. In the morning we use oats porridge with dehydrated milk and butter. At lunch some snacks, crispbread with nutella :-), cheese on tube and so on. Homemade are not worse than dinner you by ready to put in hot water, but way much better. Maybe not a good answer, but I think the calorie to weight ratio is good. I have used this kind of food earlier on hikes and managed very well during the day :-) Tell if the answer is very unclear and not understandable....