Hiking - Push to change myself!

in #hiking6 years ago

There is nothing more challenging then pushing yourself to change. In the hiking world it may be your fear of being in the woods alone. It could be your want to put miles under your belt to reach a beautiful destination. For me, it’s my fight to lose enough weight to not make it painful to hike 10 miles. Now, I’m not extremely overweight… in perspective to some other people out there, but I am needing to push myself so I can actually reach the destinations I want. One destination is Mount Katahdin in Maine… but the starting point is in Georgia at Springer Mountain. This is my ultimate goal when it comes to hiking, the Appalachian Trail.

mk.jpg

I have dropped 30lbs since March of 2017. Well on my way, but I seriously need to drop another 50 and build my leg strength and stamina. I am continually trying to improve what and how much I eat, but the biggest key is staying active. I have been working on a renovation project on my house and it is keeping me pretty busy.

scale.jpg

To help keep me motivated, I keep purchasing a new wanted/needed backpacking item. It’s keeping me excited for my chance to use the items and has my drive to lose weight at a high level. This coming spring I look forward taking on some larger hiking challenges.

newgear.jpg

So, who's ready to go for a hike in 2018?

Sort:  

I’m ready and can’t wait for the weather to break so I can get back on the trails. Stay focused on diet and activity and the weight will come off. I’ve had good success with daily calorie and activity trackers like My Fitness Pal. The trackers along with getting on the scale daily give me the feedback I need to stay focused. Good luck and have a happy and healthy new year!

Focus is key while trying to train or just better bettering yourself!

I think it's really awesome that you are rewarding yourself with the items needed for future hikes! I too am on a journey to lose some weight, thank you for giving me a few ideas to encourage that motivation within...Good luck on all your travels!!!!

It really does keep me motivated. I just picked up some darn tough socks... unreal how good they feel.