Old Guy Takes a Hike - I overcame backpain, mishaps, and old age, and five months later had success.

in #hiking7 years ago

I did the East Ridge Trail at Armstrong Woods Wednesday
June 7 ! Twenty three years or so ago I used to do the trail a
couple times a week, when I lived in Rio Nido. About a year
ago I could barely walk and stand due to back pain. After about
3 months of strengthening my lower back muscles, simple
exercises I got from a chiropractor, I began to walk painfully
down to the corner and back. Two weeks later the pain was
greatly diminished. I changed my walk to the top of Ragle
where there are slight hills and started to think about the
East Ridge Trail.
Then I sprained my ankle. About three months later I did a
test of the steep trail portion up from the visitor center and did
OK. When I recovered from my soreness a week later I did the
test portion again and it re-stressed my ankle. A month later my
ankle was recovering and then something went wrong with
my knee. About a week later I decided to just do it. As I started
off my ankle was OK, my knee a bit sore, but my back was acting
up. Since none of the pains were sharp pains I decided to push on.
After a half hour my back felt more tolerable.
I could not rest as much as I wanted because I forgot mosquito
repellent. I did the 2.2 miles with 400 foot climb in 2 and a half
hours. Not bad for a fat 69 year old. Twenty years ago my time
was a bit over an hour. It is Tuesday now and my knees are still a
little sore, but I did it! I hope to be able to do it once a week and maybe
recover faster. I am feeling a small sense of accomplishment.
No video or audio upload here...yet.
recording.30IMG_0501.png