Album Spotlight - Big Fish Theory (Vince Staples)

in #hiphop7 years ago (edited)

A crazy amount of really good music has come out this year, and it's very easy to overlook some of the lesser reveled artists when so many big names have dropped projects. I wanted to focus on the sophomore album by Vince Staples: Big Fish Theory.

Image of Big Fish Theory

Sonically, this project is very different from what has been flooding the rap genre lately. The first thing it reminded me of, honestly, was Yeezus. The production was both extremely different from mainstream rap, while also paying homage to Vince's West Coast roots.

A few notable tracks from the record were: Big Fish, Yeah Right, 745, and Crabs in a Bucket. Reading through the credits, there were several big names attached to this project: Kendrick Lamar, Rick Ross, Justin Vernon (of Bon Iver), Kilo Kish, A$AP Rocky, and more.

I don't like stars and whatnot, so I'll say that Vince's album was really good. I hope the replay value is high, though I know I will be playing this album for at least the next few weeks. Let me know what you guys think of the album!

Follow me, resteem, etc!!

Sort:  

upvoted and followed! Great post btw!

Yea man Vince Staples is dope...he's definitely going to be around 4 awhile