PART 2 - TOP *10*: Greatest Hip Hop Albums - My Biased Opinion

in #hiphop6 years ago

Because of the success of my first installment of the greatest Hip Hop albums, it made me reflect on all the artists I forgot to include. So as a Part 2 series to this, I have added in another “top 10” that I feel are deserving as the greatest.

If you missed my first installment, feel free to check out the posts here

Once again, this list is in no particular order, nor does it take precedence over my first top 10 list.

1. Nas – Illtmatic

Release in 1994 (the same time as B.I.G. albums) yet did not receive the same amount of praise, Illmatic is a 10 track album with 10 classics. Though I am still working on naming my first born after Nas (with some dispute from my girlfriend) he is arguably the greatest lyricist in the game. I had the pleasure of seeing him this year with Lauren Hill for the first time and at his age, does still not disappoint.

2. Gangstarr - The Ownerz

If you know hip hop than you know Gangstarr. Premo, still one of the greatest hip hop producers of all team, teams up with the very unique sounding Guru (Guru Rest in peace) to put together album after album. The Ownerz was my generations album so always holds a special place in my heart. I highly recommend if you have not listened to it.

3. Gravediggaz - 6 Feet Deep

I am actually very upset I did not include this on my first list, but this is definitely my favorite album ever. Everything is produced by Rza and his verses are absolutely insane. Just liten, you will not regret it.

4. Slick Rick - The Art of Storytelling

71SJkizhK9L._SY355_.jpg

Ah the great Slick Rick, the story master himself. Though this was a much later album, it was one that spoked to me the best. His melodic flow and voice are definitely a change of pace, but one worthwhile.

5. Saigon - Warning Shots

R-1491012-1458429609-8125.jpeg (1).jpg

I still remember the impact this album had when it first came out. People rolled to parties with burnt copies and demanded it be played from start to finish, and cot damn was it worth it. Though I had much higher hopes for this artist, Warning Shots is a definite classic.

6. The Roots - How I Got Over

51JQCHe3WmL.jpg

Just an amazing album, almost all of which was played with live music by the very talented roots band. I do not need to go into too much detail, the Roots are the Roots.

7. Linkin Park - Reanimation

Linkin_park_reanimation.jpg

Yes, I am putting this as a hip hop album as it had more rapping than anything else. Of course an RIP to Chester,
but his legacy with Linkin Park will live on forever. I cannot even tell you how many times I have fallen asleep to this album, it was my childhood lullaby.

8. M.O.P. - Firing Squad

R-344370-1158330221.jpeg.jpg

With the screaming of MOP and the entire album produced by DJ Premier, this album is just incredible.. Period!

9. Cormega - The Realness

R-382364-1152406495.jpeg.jpg

I am obviously a big Queensbridge supporter and Cormega was no one to shy away from. Alongside Nas,
Mega was definitely was the top lyricists of his days.

10. Run the Jewels - Self Titled

RunTheJewels3.jpg

I always have to include a new album in my lists, and Run The Jewels is nothing to sleep on.

Sort:  

Nice man you threw Nas on this one!

Ha yes! Was having a hard time sleeping knowing I left it out the first time.

Digging this list a bit more, nice job!

Appreciate it!