Commodore 64 /// The First Computer I worked on. /// Now we have Apple's and STEEMIT

in #history7 years ago (edited)

So, when I was in high school back in the mid-late 1980's I had a friend named Scott. He purchased his Commodore 64 for around $600 Bucks. commodore64.jpg
(image from PCWorld.com)

The Commodore 64 "took its name from its 64 kilobytes (65,536 bytes) of RAM." Quote on this web site:(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commodore_64) I was quite envious of him because his parents had purchased him a Commodore 64. I wanted one so bad. Unfortunately I never got one but that was ok.

I would simply drive over to my friend Scott's house to use his. Basically you could only use the thing to write reports on. After my reports were finished I would simply print them up on his dot matrix printer. That printer was so loud. The thing sounded like a chainsaw buzzing back and forth. Yes, the Commodore 64 was the future back then. So you young pups out there remember that next time you sit down in front of that Apple you are reading this post on right now. All I can say is this...
"God Bless STEEMIT"

Next Step... ATARI. Cheers.

Sort:  

You are seriously dating yourself dude.

I'm too old to remember when I used that machine

Haha. Yes. Man does time fly by. Its really hard to believe how tech has changed over the years. The best machine I ever owned was an electronic type writer with spell check. That thing was cool. Bought it in 1987.

We got a commadore 64 in 1986 and that was my introduction to the wonderful world of computers. It really was a great computer. For the first year I mostly played games, loaded from a cassette. Hearing the sound of loading a game gives me, to this day, the same feeling of excitement. After the first year I was done with games and got a book teaching BASIC computer programming - I was hooked! I have many wonderful memories from the late 80s using the commadore.

I miss the 80's. Everything was so simple back then. The computers were very exciting, and the arcades. Wow, what a great time.

as the c64 was also my first computer, upvoted and resteemed :)

I remember when i got my ZX Spectrum being gutted it wasnt the Commodore 64, dont worry i got a 64, damn right i did lol. I had a card that went in the back of it that i could freeze games and edit sprites, i made a game called Bub and Gobblins, basically i took all the sprites out of Bubble Bobble and put them in Ghost and Gobblins, fired bubbles and everything, i was proper proud of myself. But then i got an Amiga 500 and wished i still had the 64.

That sounds awesome.

I also had one of those, but not to write reports. It was one of the first computers, that could run games (more than pac man) and had something like a sound generator.And a bit later I swapped the cassette drive to a floppy disk drive. It was so slow and had next to no storage capacity - but it was a floppy disk drive! That was really something at the time.
After that, I had a Atari ST, which was already a quantum leap. I'm really glad today that I saw how it all began. The kids today wont get that experience, they think computers have always been like they are now.

I used to play on the Commodore 64 at my mates house too ☺ took 30min to load a game sometimes, but it was the best at the time lol.. how times have changed 😎

Yep. So true. You can get a beast of a computer for $600 today.

Only for reports? Hell no, this was the first computer you could play decent games on.
And when you had the diskdrive the loading of games took just some minutes.

Great machine, enjoyed it bigtime.

hahahah still got one ...i will not get rid of my clasicssss cheeerssss .
upvoted and resteemed