You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Research Paths - From Coral to a Poem and Everything Inbetween

in #history6 years ago

I love the hand writing of this time period. We have many family letters from the mid victorian era and the perfect line of their script is like art in itself, the patience to make it. I don't think they even teach 'cursive' any longer, a dying art. I know that isn't what this post is about, but I couldn't' help but comment on it, as I truly love the old writing style.

Sort:  

That's actually a really important thing to point out! Cursive is not taught much anymore, but yet so much of our history is recorded this way. So much of it that it is impossible to think that it will all be transcribed and/or digitized. So, what happens to this information as fewer and fewer people can understand it? It is interesting to think about ways that archives can serve as classrooms and these papers as teaching tools. I have actually attended transcribathons which function dually as teaching arenas and a means to digitize these papers. They are a lot of fun!