You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sympathy for Number 13: the Rise and Fall of the Devil’s Dozen

in #history8 years ago

Hmmm.... you forgot one of the really infamous Friday the 13ths, or perhaps you haven't heard of this one. Like I said 13 is my favorite number, and I actually got married to my second wife on a Friday the 13th. So I tend to be a history buff on it as well. You did share some things I hadn't heard so thanks.

Here is the one I was really familiar with and was where I had heard the negative connotations of Friday the 13th originated from, until I read your work.

At dawn on Friday the 13th, October 1307 there was a concerted arrest of the Knights Templar across multiple countries. It was a concerted effort by the king of France and the Pope. It would lead to many executions, burnings at the stake, etc.

It was coordinated by sealed orders that all were to be opened on that day.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knights_Templar
http://michaelspradlin.com/blog/2013/09/friday-the-13th-and-the-knights-templar/

I guess it helps that I am also a fan of the history of the Knights Templar.

Sort:  

Yes, a couple of you have mentioned the Knights Templar date, which is one of several auspicious 13s in history. Thanks for mentioning it...I couldn't list them all.

Congrats on busting the 13th myth and making it a special day in your life.

We tried to take it to an extreme but events kept us from marrying the day we originally planned to. We were going to marry on Friday, October the 13th, in the year 2000. We thought it was a great day and amusing. We actually started dating on a Friday the 13th as well. :P