You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life in Nazi Germany and My Family

in #history7 years ago

Excellent read! I too am a bit of a history fan, and specifically military history.
The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich should be required reading in school, if for no other reason, it can halp future generations avoid making the same mistakes. I have just begun reading "The Nightmare Years" by Shirer. If you are looking for another great read from him, try "Berlin Diaries". Really gives you a day to day account of life in Berlin and the rest of Europe prior to 1942.

Sort:  

If I am not mistaken, I have read them. I was impressed by the switch in tone between his letters sent from Switzerland and what he was able to say when in Germany. The man was a brilliant journalist, but after the war he got dissed pretty good. Some people also tear Rise and Fall down these days. Sad. I am glad you like this!