A damn near perfectly intact dinosaur fossil of a Nodosaur (family: Ankylosaur) discovered and recovered intact.

in #history7 years ago

“We don’t just have a skeleton,” he tells me later. “We have a dinosaur as it would have been.”

STUNNING DISCOVERY Some 110 million years ago, this armored plant-eater lumbered through what is now western Canada, until a flooded river swept it into open sea. The dinosaur’s undersea burial preserved its armor in exquisite detail. Its skull still bears tile-like plates and a gray patina of fossilized skins.

By Michael Greshko
Photographs by Robert Clark
Read more at: National Geographic Magazine

I came across this article and thought it was probably one of the coolest discoveries of the ancient world I have ever seen so I thought it was steemit worthy. Anyway, enjoy!

Sort:  

Oh wow, this is awesome! It's so amazingly well preserved, and looks just like the models!

Pfft, my bones are more intact than that