Frank Thwarts McUgly's Assassination Attempt

in #history5 years ago

I like this balancing rock sculpture by artist Michael Grab. I'll be talking about his work more in a later post. I think this is in Arizona. He totally balances rocks with no glue or adhesives.

It's completely astounding:

23i3uyph2k.png
source

Here's another angle:

j2a5wmul6a.jpg
source

And here's the artist himself:

lthzrl4csb.jpg
source

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

We're in a series about one of the best Texas Rangers to ever wear the badge, the great Frank Hamer, who was brought out of retirement to take down Bonnie and Clyde.

(And who temporarily went out of his mind in his choice of a wife)

Recap

In the last post Frank and Gladys got married and the threat against the family grew as the Sims clan fumed and thirsted for revenge.

You had Mr. Sims who was offering $4,000 to anyone who could bump off Billy Johnson(Glady's dad) and Frank Hamer.

That was equivalent to $80,000 in today's money so in a time when a nice house cost a few thousand dollars it was a fortune.

Gladys's brother-in-law Gee McMeans was determined to do the job but I call him McUgly because in Texas jargon we use "ugly" to describe someone who is a nasty piece of work basically. Mean and ruthless. That was McMeans.

Today's story

Everyone knew what route Billy Johnson took each day to get into town. One day He drove into town and as usual, Frank and Frank's brother Harrison accompanied him as guards. Frank knew that McUgly would try something soon.

McUgly and 3 other ugly dirtbags set up an ambush by the side of the road on Billy's route into town. They were hiding in some brush just waiting for the car to come into sight. It did and they aimed their rifles.

But suddenly the car slammed on it's brakes right before it got to them and Frank jumped out and started shooting. They were caught by surprise and thought they were under attack so they ran for their car.

Saved by the wolf

What actually happened was that Frank just happened to see a big gray wolf off the road so he had Billy stop the car so he could shoot it. (Wolves were the bane of every cattleman in the region.)

Turns out the wolf was right beside the brush area where McUgly and his uglies were. lol. Well Frank and them were shocked as well to see all those guys running out of the brush toward their car and speeding off.

Search and destroy

When they got Billy safely to the bank Frank and Harrison went looking for the uglies because Frank was hot. Sure enough, Frank spotted two of the men inside a store and said, " Look over yonder next to the cafe."

They waited for them to come out and the thugs walked across the street towards the bank. Frank and Harrison approached them on the sidewalk. Frank asked Harrison which one he wanted. Harrison said, "It don't make a damn to me."

When they got up to the supposed ruffians one of them began saying "Hello, hello there" repeatedly which don't make no sense unless he was scared out of his britches.

An old fashioned beat down

Frank steps in and does one of his open palm slaps against the guys' head and knocks him clean off his feet.

His partner started pleading with Harrison squealing "Don't hit me! Don't hit me!" like a little school girl.

Harrison said later, "I grabbed him by the collar and shoved him up against the abutment of that First National Bank building and smashed his nose and lips and all. Frank was just stompin the hell out of his man."

Frank jerked the guy to his feet and yelled, "Pull out that pistol you've got in your pocket and use it!"

"But the man wouldn't use it," Harrison said "and then Frank kicked him plumb out in the street. Hell, he wouldn't do nothin so Frank turned him loose, and I let mine go too."

No sign of McUgly though and Frank knew he would try again but he needed to hire some better quality thugs.

o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAMxodQF1jJNdfpHTCGove.png

Those accounts of Frank slapping the trash out of people always reminds me of those hilarious Trinity Westerns starring Terence Hill. Check out this scene from Trinity Is Still My Name:

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas

uvsylyennv.png

l1xgphrt5d.png

ak059z170l.png

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Omg those sculptures just rock 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy paulag! I agree, he has some astounding ones that I'll put in an upcoming post plus a video that shows him building one that will leave you going whaaaaat???? lol. Because it looks impossible.

Janton you are killing me 😂😂😂 That scene was hilarious!!!

But I was already laughing while reading the story. Altough I wasn't happy Frank was shooting at he wolf, the rest for really funny. And I believe it was meant to be!!! It was no coincidence....you know what I mean! @tipu curate

The rock sculpture is unbelievable and the photos are amazing!

Thanks Miss Lena! Yes, I love it when cowardly thugs turn into scaredy cats when faced with real men. They were going to murder them in that ambush like cowards so they deserved a good thrashing.

But since he missed the wolf you couldn't have been too upset right? What about the innocent cattle that the wolves were killing?

Anyway I think I'll finish that rock sculpture post that I accidently started on Frank's post yesterday. lol.

Howdy Janton! I am glad Frank missed that wolf and i knew what you are going to say about that. However, if wolfs are one of the animals that keep the Eco system in balance and cattle including all animal agriculture is destroying it. The poor cattle should not be brought to life in the first place. Wild cows do not reproduce in such numbers as humans breeding domestic cattle on ranches. Altough, I understand this was 100 years ago and life was very different then, I am still happy Frank did not missed that wolf. Check out this article https://www.yellowstonepark.com/park/yellowstone-wolves-reintroduction

Otherwise, I am a big fan of Frank and the way he kicks ass or to be more exact, slaps those dirtbags, lol.

Howdy tonight Miss Lena! Great program in Yellowstone. We need someone to introduce predators of the coyotes here, they're way too many of them plus breeding with wild dogs. yeah, I love it when Frank slaps a dirtbag right off his feet. lol.

I am not sure who is the predator of Coyote here, but we have them here too. Altough ours here do not breed with wild dogs. But who knows, maybe wolfs would chase them away too.

Those first two photos really made that sphere sculpture look huge! Then seeing the artist hover over it was a little shocking. Neat!

I still need to watch Trinity is Still My Name. Loved the first one! Funny stuff!

Howdy sir wwwiebe! I know what you mean, I thought it was huge sculpture until I saw him standing beside it! lol. I guess it would be too dangerous and difficult to build a huge one though.

Yes, the Trinity movies are ridiculously silly and hilarious! lol. Just my style.

What about that trashing of the two thugs? I figured you'd get a kick out of those!

Oh my gosh, more fun with history! This is an incredibly story. I love the wolf in the bushes, and the fact that they had no idea. The rock sculptures are really amazing. I am glad you showed the artist next to the work because I had no idea the sculptures were at first.

Howdy today jayna! Thanks, I think it's a great story too and I love it when cowards get a good thrashing from real men!

Yes, I thought the sculpture was huge until I saw the artist standing next to it. lol. But I guess one with huge rocks would be too heavy and dangerous.

Hiya janton, it is nearly 3pm here. I just have to come out in support of girls, I think many school girls are made of stern stuff and would not squeal in any circumstances. I think the yellow belly ugly baddies have it down pat with the squirming and squealing, lol.

How synchronistic that the wolf was near the ambush! Exciting stuff janton😊

Howdy angiemitchell! So I have inadvertently insulted school girls haven't I?

Then I should have said something like the guy squealed like a frightened 3 yr old! My apologies to school girls everywhere. Although, they may be tougher down yonder so I might only need to apologize to your school girls! lol.

Hahah, I knew or hoped that you would be amused with my comment. It was not meant to be a chastisement. My apologies if you felt a rap over the knuckles.
You see I used to train teachers on the topic protective behaviours and the related formal Legislation. Ingrained in our cultures are the run of the tongue comments like, 'don't be a girl or you fight as good as a girl'. As a result this has stuck with me. Once we realise then we as a human race stop doing it.

ps: and yes talking about guys doing this or that is the way to go, lol. Hahaha.

That's a very good point, it IS ingrained in us as a culture like I proved. lol.

Dang! What a cover image, sir. I went through the first images amazed. Have you ever balanced rocks? @janton, I have!! I’m lucky to stack a couple of straight up. The dude you featured on the cover is amazing.

Howdy sir dandays! You know, I said you were on my list to catch up with yesterday?

So there I am going through my list last night and then the internet went down on us at 9pm and was off till 11pm! That put me way behind so I couldn't finish my list but I'll go after it again tonight.

I suppose the service over there is top rate? That's what someone told me anyway.

Yes, thanks sir, I really was shocked about this guy with the rocks. I think I'll just finish that post that I accidently started on Frank's post yesterday. lol..I think I'll to that for todays.

I have a video that shows him creating a sculpture that will leave you wondering how in the world?? or at least it did me. No, I never attempted to stack rocks. It figures that you have though.lol...I have no idea if that is an insult or a compliment!

Frank’s certainly had some lucky heather on his shoulder that day. Too bad he had to shoot the gray wolf. He was trigger- happy tool

Gray wolves are the only animal that can keep the coyote population under control. I don’t think there are any left or at least not many.

Howdy today redheadpei! Well he missed the wolf so that part is good for wolf lovers. Yeah, I don't think the coyotes have any natural enemies here. Except man and there's was too many of them.

Cowards got what they deserved Sir @janton, easy to kill a man from a hidden spot, but not so easy face to face. If I was Frank, I would straight after gone to find McUgly, but I know that his time is coming.
Some intricate sculptures that you have there!
Blessings!

Yeah I love it when dirtbag cowards get thrashed by real men!

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 6.6% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Just amazing very impressive 👋 👍 👋

HAHAHAHAHA! this is my favorite episode ever! The balancing rocks! The very funny story! The slapping video!
YES! Yes I do want to see that again!

Haha! Howdy owasco! Thanks so much. I'm so glad you are enjoying the posts! Have you ever tried balancing rocks?

Goodness no I do not have the patience for that. Have you?

No, I've never thought of it and would probably never try it because of a lack of patience so we are in total agreement! lol.