The Secret of The Roofs in Korean Traditional Building, A Case of Bulguksa.

in #history6 years ago

Bulguksa is famous for it’s beautiful architectures, Buddhist towers and bridges.
It looks amazing that these architectures had been made 1500 years ago.

Each architectures are well balanced and elegant.
In this reason, Bulguksa is always full with people who are trying to see.

But if you just stop for looking at those bridges, pagodas and buildings, it must be too expensive for your money and time.

As I told before, the core of Korean traditional building is not the building itself but the place where the building is located.

There is big differences between Korean traditional architecture and Chines traditional one.
The main difference is resulted from Mountain.

Korea is a country of mountain.
Every places are surrounded by Mountains in Korea.

I had posted several times on Mountain God building in Korean Buddhist temple.
The geographic circumstances influence human life.

Every Korean villages and cities have their main mountain.
Main mountain of Seoul is Bukak Mountain which is located just behind of the Bluehouse, the president Palace.

In this reason, Korean traditional Architectures must’ve been harmonized with mountains surrounding.
The Architectures must be a part of Nature.
So You need to look at the traditional village and city from far away.

The most important part of Korean traditional architecture is definitely the ROOF.

Korean loofs are not distinguished from surroundings.
Loofs also must be the part of nature.

The Architecture in Korean must make harmony with Nature surrounding it.
The reason that the roofs are not so luxurious like China is their intention to keep the harmony with Nature.

So if you enjoy Korean Architecture, you must focus on the scenes made by Both architecture and Nature.

Here, the roofs play most important role in making scenes.
The way to enjoy the scene is standing near the eaves of the roofs.

When you stand under the eaves of Korean traditional architecture, the eaves looks like the frame of the works by artists.

Then let’s go to look around the scenes that the roofs and Nature present us.
There might be some photos I already had posted, but different perception will give us different feeling.

_2050321.JPG

_2050291.JPG

_2050077.JPG

_2050136.JPG

_2050232.JPG

_2050204.JPG

_2050211.JPG

_2050274.JPG

Every photo has it’s meaning and beauty with the roofs.

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages
Korea is very rich in ancestral heritage, they preserved it for the future generations to see what their ancestors art, designs, life & etc. This is the evidence that Korean people were great architectural designer in their bloodline. Hats-off to them!

Thank you so much
But we have so much problems on preserving our relics.

Very interesting article @slowwalker, thanks for sharing!

Great photos and very stimulating. Thanks for bringing the history of the past back into the 21st century.

I notice that asian roofs have no rain gutters. Is the overhang enough to keep the rain from splashing the building?

pretty pictures, good luck

this is ansome great shooot
good job

thank you so much

lovely buildings

so wonderful and meaningful , thank you for your sharing.

Thank you so much

good write a story

It's amazing the genius of human mind to be able put up such magnificent architectural structures 1500 years ago while maintaining a kind of ying yang balance between nature and man-made structures.Thanks for constantly wowing us with the wonders of the ancient world. Keep it coming

This looks the building that is made by experts, and still stands firmly until now, also made with a very nice carving.
thanks @slowwalker already shared.

Thank you for reading

Wou, I love that architecture is linked to nature to be harmonious. My city is full of mountains, we have a volcano in front of us, its strength is incredible, however, our architecture is not pleasant.
In the second photo, it seems that the roof has continuity with the trees that are behind.
Beautiful place.

Thank you so much
I've never seen a volcano

caramba, pues vente para Pasto mi ciudad, y podremos ir hasta la cumbre del volcán Galeras :)

So much deep history, this life will always offer ❤✨

Absolutely fantastic photography 👍✨❗

Very beautiful site~
Thank you for your pictures

The city is surrounded by a mountain is very beautiful.benar you say every photo has a meaning and beauty with the roof. I love to read about your post, thank you for sharing

Thank you for reading my posting

steemit is truly a great source of information.....i am becoming a nerd 😂😂..love it

Photography skills is on point! Love it! I love Korea and I will always love it. Looking by pictures it is so peaceful :D

I am embarrassed. I know my photos are not good

korea_overlanding.jpg

where is it? that is in seoul?

I think it is Hwaseong Fortress in Suwon. 1hr drive from seoul.

Really nice photo.
You did good job

오.. 수원이였군요. ^^ 감사합니다.

Nice post. I like this article

Old architectural structure, man i really love these beautiful Temple. Looks like you had a great time out there. I enjoyed scrolling down and seeing each of the photographs, wow they are so beautiful. Great composition .Man your travel diaries are amazing. Literally loved it.

Thank you so much

You are welcome.

Sir, if you have free time, please visit my Photography Blog.
https://steemit.com/photography/@pijon/my-photography

i was really amaze by how they make their roofs and whats behind that design....

Good post ....And Nice Architecture

경주에 계속 계시나 봅니다~ ^*

왔다 갔다 하고 있습니다

awesome photography.

The place is so perfect you have managed to immortalize it well in this picture and the place has become a world heritage. I really want to travel there, hopefully this winter will be realized 😊

Yes, I wish your plan to be realized

This great story, i appreciate this photography....
i wait your next post, keep it up dear friend.
upvote and resteemit

Thank you for reading

Most welcome

Amazing photography.
I appreciate your History..thaks for sharing this post.

atab is nice and beautiful in the view, good post.

This is your cultural heritage, which is listed in UNESCO.
Bulluska, located in Tohmsan of Gainggu, is a Buddhist monastery built in rock era. This is a Buddhist monastery, which somehow speaks. It is a sanctuary to meet Buddhist monks again. thanks for share this history.

Thank you

welcome friend

i think thats what makes a good architect! if the person keeps nature and building in harmony... so yeah the traditional Korean style suits me more!

Thank you for reading

Thanks for sharing with us another secret in Korea's traditional buildings, @slowwalker. 😄It's nice to know that there's a reason why they keep the architecture as traditional as possible - to be one with nature.

Thank you for reading

I just found out that korean country is a mountain country. thanks for the information. I really like your post.

your photography is best in the world my dear.believe that

thanks @slowwalker already sharing history in korea, i will always follow @slowwalker see new post from @slowwalker, please help me my friend, i have new post

건물 명칭은 한글을 병행 해주셔도 외국분들이 도움이 될 것 같습니다 슬로우워커님 ^^

It's amazing the building already 1500 years old still standing is fabulous

Very interesting history, we hope korea peninsula always in peace, success always for you brother, i like your post and have upvote and resteem your post to more than 1200 my follower, greeting friendship from me @abialfatih in aceh indonesia

Thank you so much

I'm learning about Korean culture every single day. I didn't know that every place in Korea has a mountain in it and about their rooof

:)

Thank you so much for your reading.
The tip on the roofs and mountain is very important to understand Korean Architects

Thanks much for this. I'm a korean drama fan. Now I'm looking at the roofs whenever they feature a temple lol

Thank you for this useful information, I just do not think about it after reading this article !!!

The existence and functionality of the architecture for 1500 years ago is quite amazing. It is suitable to serve as a tourist center attracting visitors from various parts of the world.

post a very good and very amazing I really like, hopefully posts like you

한국의 아름다움을 새삼 느끼게 되네요.

Very good story for us to hear my friend. and continue sharing your story for us all my friends yes.dan I can read your post this time my friend @slowwalker

I do not know much detail about korean architecture, as I know, korea has beautiful and very unique building.

your explanation adds to my knowledge, thanks.

Nice post my friend,,, im always interesting about korean traditional culture,,, im also like watching about korean film,,, i remember, from some movies that i watch, when a king died, someone stand above the roof on the palace while swinging the king's clothes,,, and announced that the king had died,,, that what i know about roof on Korean culture,,,
Beside that, which you explain is make me know about korean culture,,, and i just have finished reading about bulguksa,,, its so amazing and very good place,,, thanks my friend for sharing,,,

Thank you so much for dropping by

You are welcome my friend,,, :)

Wonderful

I love this series on Korean Temples. Thank you for taking the time to create them. I also admire the roofs on Korean Temples and buildings.

Thank you so much for reading

it is very clear that the beautiful place is between the mountains, surely it is needed a very expensive cost to design the building and whether the carvings that exist in the building has its own meaning for the people of korea ??

I thank you @slowwalker who has visited my post 'sorry has bothered you!

wow even you also donate your steem doller to the poor people.nice thats great.i saw your image.thank

There are 3 pages
Pages