You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I Accidentally Uncovered a 19th century Con Woman and Murderer

in #history6 years ago

This is incredibly fascinating. It seems to me that men are very susceptible to beautiful women and also to the whole savior complex.
She's like a 19th century version of the Nigerian prince email except also a psychopath. What an incredibly interesting character. It's sort of shocking that so many people would fall for such a story, though I guess fact checking was quite a bit harder in those days. Makes me wonder how many people were suspicious of her. I just can't even fathom how whacked in the head you have to be to kill your own child for attention. That picture is a freaking trip!

Sort:  

I'm sure the savior complex was like x1,000 back in the 19th century! I'm not that shocked, given some of the people I've met now who say all sorts of wacky things and people tend to fall for it until there's a big enough chink in the armor. I wish I could find more of these kinds of people in history and write biographies of them.

I don't doubt it. I'm sure women could just bat their eyelashes and men would hop right to the rescue.
It always surprises me when people fall for that stuff, but you're right. Even now people are incredibly gullible. It would be cool to have a sort of history of con artists book. I like the idea.