You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Tales of Pirates - Edward "Ned" Low

in #history6 years ago

This gets me in the mood to go watch pirate of the Caribbean! The pirate culture is something that always intrigued me, i think there should be more movies about the great pirates that the world had.

Just one question, he never got to azores right? i guess azores was probably a nice place for pirates since it's in the middle of the ocean

Sort:  

I loved the first three movies in the pirate of the Caribbean series, but each later movie was just worse than one that came before... There is a really good tv-series about pirates (Black Sails) and much of it is based on history. I still haven't finished it, but I loved the first few episodes that I watched.

He actually did get to Azores, but not many notable things happened there (besides successful plundering) so I didn't write about it. That was the problem with the Azores, if you were being hunted there as a pirate there was no other close place to resupply. Bahamas were the heaven for pirates. They were split between Spanish, French and English jurisdictions and had a strong winds which didn't allow big warships to sail as much windward as smaller pirate sloops could. :) At some point I will write a detailed post about some of the ideal locations for pirating during the golden age. 🏴‍☠️