You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Saucy Naked Ujeqe Sandwich

in Club of Sandwicheslast year

Hi @clairemobey, I was also surprised the first time I saw that, especially when she made it in a plastic bag. I really expected to see a kind of dumpling but as you see it has a proper brown crust, although soft. She lets it sit on a rack for a bit to 'dry' the crust a bit before wrapping it in a special bread cloth I use.
Hope you're all well down in Cape Town 🤗

Sort:  

I loved your steaming bowl! That's amazing! Do you remember those steaming thingies made from stainless steel that opened and closed like flower petals? I'll see if I can find a pic. My granny had one.

 last year  

I remember those but did not inherit one😉 My gran used to make a steamed 'doekpoeding', really delicious steamed in a flour cloth bag.

that doekpoeding sounds enticing! I'm also not sure about the plastic bag 🤣 I'm so glad you remember that steamer thingy I was talking about. most people look at me like I'm crazy when I try to explain it to them. I used to love playing with it when I was little.