Gaining Strength at the End of Summer with a Barbecue |EN/ES|

in Hive Food2 years ago

1657324670516-01.jpeg


Even though I only had vacations from my studies, I still don't want the summer to end. It is rainy period here, and not only I love that weather but having that climate with free time is amazing (to be lazy at least). Soon, I begin my next semester. Most of my vacations have gone working on my jobs, hive-ing, gaming, and eating! there has been a lot of hot dogs in the past month and a half (that if you don't count the hamburgers). My family proposed a barbecue recently, and I just thought it was ideal to say goodbye to summer and the free time while gaining some strength for the busy schedule ahead.

Aunque solo tuve vacaciones de mis estudios, todavía no quiero que termine el verano. Es un período lluvioso aquí, y no solo me encanta ese clima, sino que tener ese clima con tiempo libre es increíble (al menos para ser perezoso). Pronto, empiezo mi próximo semestre. ¡La mayoría de mis vacaciones las he pasado trabajando en mis trabajos, colmenas, juegos y comida! ha habido muchos perritos calientes en el último mes y medio (eso si no cuentas las hamburguesas). Mi familia me propuso hace poco una barbacoa, y me pareció ideal para despedir el verano y el tiempo libre mientras cogemos fuerzas para la apretada agenda que tenemos por delante.

1657328805744-01.jpeg

I am not a barbecue master; I leave that job to the meat-lovers at home. They did all the work: clean the meat, prepare the seasonings, put the meat to macerate and absorb flavors for 24 hrs, and of course, they cooked everything. It is not like I didn't do anything. My roles are not in the meat department, but I love how those tender meat cuts and sausages look over the grill.

No soy un maestro de la barbacoa; Dejo ese trabajo a los amantes de la carne en casa. Hicieron todo el trabajo: limpiar la carne, preparar los condimentos, poner la carne a macerar y absorber sabores por 24 hrs, y por supuesto, cocinaron todo. No es como si no hubiera hecho nada. Mis roles no están en el departamento de carnes, pero me encanta cómo se ven esos tiernos cortes de carne y salchichas sobre la parrilla.

1657328756545-01.jpeg

These sausages are particularly spicy. We love those kind at home. The spicy flavor comes from chili no doubt. Sometimes, it is hard to find good sausages where I live, but my family already know a couple great spots to visit in search for them. Needless to say, the sausages were cooked perfectly being juicy on the inside with the smoky and slightly crunchy exterior skin.

Estas salchichas son particularmente picantes. Nos encantan esos tipos en casa. El sabor picante proviene del chile sin duda. A veces, es difícil encontrar buenas salchichas donde vivo, pero mi familia ya conoce un par de lugares excelentes para visitar en busca de ellas. No hace falta decir que las salchichas se cocinaron perfectamente siendo jugosas por dentro con la piel exterior ahumada y ligeramente crujiente.

1657329257009-01.jpeg

As for the side dishes, we always go with yuka roots or seasoned corn buns. This time we chose Yuka roots. This is mainly a carb with not much flavor. Yuka is my department. I have to peel, wash, and chop them. The pieces are cooked in boiling water for about 20-30 minutes depending on how fresh the roots are. An usual tip is to make three small cuts reaching almost the center of the root asif one would separate the root in three equal pieces to facilitate the cooking and prevent a very hard root after the cooking time. The other option we prepare is the corn buns. My mother used to season them with oregano and cumin plus salt. Sometimes paprika can be added.

En cuanto a las guarniciones, siempre vamos con raíces de yuka o bollos de maíz sazonados. Esta vez elegimos las raíces de Yuka. Esto es principalmente un carbohidrato sin mucho sabor. Yuka es mi departamento. Tengo que pelarlas, lavarlas y trocearlas. Las piezas se cocinan en agua hirviendo durante unos 20-30 minutos dependiendo de lo frescas que estén las raíces. Un consejo habitual es hacer tres pequeños cortes que lleguen casi al centro de la raíz como si se separara la raíz en tres partes iguales para facilitar la cocción y evitar que la raíz se endurezca mucho después del tiempo de cocción. La otra opción que preparamos son los bollos de elote. Mi madre los sazonaba con orégano y comino más sal. A veces se puede añadir pimentón.

1657329219574-01.jpeg

A pico de gallo salad is a must have at every barbecue in our family. Without this simple salad, the barbecue would had felt incomplete. The salad is made with tomatoes, onions, bell pepper, and coriander. The seasoning is simple: just vegetable oil, vinegar and salt. I usually double the amount of oil per the amount of vinegar placed. This is also my department when we do barbecues at home. I love this salad; it is so fresh and salty/acid enough for me.

Una ensalada de pico de gallo es imprescindible en cada parrillada de nuestra familia. Sin esta simple ensalada, la barbacoa se habría sentido incompleta. La ensalada está hecha con tomates, cebollas, pimiento y cilantro. El condimento es simple: solo aceite vegetal, vinagre y sal. Yo suelo duplicar la cantidad de aceite por la cantidad de vinagre que le pongo. Este también es mi departamento cuando hacemos parrilladas en casa. Me encanta esta ensalada; es lo suficientemente fresco y salado/ácido para mí.

1657324428344-01.jpeg

This is my strengthening and comforting plate! Now I can go to classes again. Thanks to all those who made this meal possible. Barbecues are a family thing. I only missed my mom at the table saying how eating mostly proteins was something good for her; it was her excuse to propose a family barbecue. Now, I can't wait for christmas food; the season and its food is so close!

¡Este es mi plato fortalecedor y reconfortante! Ahora puedo ir a clases de nuevo. Gracias a todos los que hicieron posible esta comida. Las barbacoas son cosa de familia. Solo extrañé a mi mamá en la mesa diciendo que comer principalmente proteínas era algo bueno para ella; fue su excusa para proponer un asado familiar. Ahora, no puedo esperar por la comida navideña; la temporada y su comida está tan cerca!



@gaeljosser
Redmi Note 7 camera
Edition with Snapseed

Sort:  

Hay algo que hizo que se me hiciera agua la boca, pero no diré qué porque suena a chinazo 😂

jajajaja nadie lo deducirá tranquila XD

Absolutamente nadie 😂

Amiga para la próxima me invita y pongo el mojito, se ve suculenta y jugosa, gracias.

Dear @gaeljosser, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got important support from the community. However, it lost its funding a few days ago and only needs a bit more support to get funded again.

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Your support will be really appreciated.
Thank you!