You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sticky Neck, Washing Hands, Cleaning Fretboards?

in Guitar6 months ago

I've never had any serious issues with sticky necks, but in my old house people would smoke inside so guitars would get dusty, really quickly. Me and a friend were having a few drinks one night and decided to clean my acoustic guitar with some linseed oil my dad had. Man, it was like new. We had the intention of cleaning my bass - my main instrument - but it got late.

My dad has a couple of Gibson SGs but doesn't go too over the top with only playing them with clean hands, he does clean them often enough, usually when re-stringing, and he's pretty heavy-handed so that happens pretty often.

The only problem with linseed oil is it can spontaneously combust, so that's something to be careful of when disposing of your rags afterward.

Sort:  

I've read linseed oil is great for guitar cleaning. I may have to try that in the future.

I purchased a 1960s Egmond parlor guitar over the summer at a garage sale. It needed some new machine heads and had at least 2 decades of dust covering it. I used some furniture polish on it (I KNOW BAD IDEA) but man it turned out to be a beautiful guitar. I couldn't believe the woodwork. I may need to stock up on linseed oil for this reason. It's got a little dust on it right now.

egmond.jpg