Tele Tuesday - Feeling Hazy

in Guitar3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


This was inspired by @molometer playing some Hendrix. Actually he prompted me to actually learn the intro to Hey Joe, but I decided to do Purple Haze that I learnt ages ago.

What I have not mastered is the solo, so I stop before that. I fluffed a few bits, but nobody is perfect. Hendrix was such an innovative player and just so cool. He could look good in 60s gear that made others look ridiculous. He would not be seen dead in this jumper. You may notice that I use my thumb over the neck. Jimi did this, but he had huge hands. If you watch videos his thumb sticks out a mile and he would play basslines with it.

I got the backing track from here. They have loads for just about any song you can think of and they are free.

As usual I am playing my Benford custom Tele through a Zoom G3X. I do not have a Strat, but I tweaked the video in tribute to Jimi. Did you notice?


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Good job! Nailed those thumb chords! I was so impressed by that technique when I first learned about it.

Jimi is one of my favourite guitar players of all time!

Cool rendition Steve, that jangly distortion was bang on. Nice one mate.
What effects did you use? Have you got the Mooer? 🎼🎵🎸👍👏

It's all my Zoom G3X on a Marshall amp model. That thing has so many sounds. I'm sure newer units may sound better, but this does what I need.

I keep forgetting about tele tuesday, one of these days I want to try and make a home made tele with a sandblasted body.

Go for it! I need to make a guitar some day too.

It's pretty easy when you get the precut body and neck. The hardest part is just lining the neck and body up with the bridge. Pickup wiring is easy. Building from scratch would be alot more difficult especially fretting the neck.

I've seen plenty of cheap kits. Could be interesting to customise one a bit to make something interesting. I'm not to hot on woodwork, so making one from scratch seems too hard, but I know people who have done it.

Yup, can confirm that it's fun! I'm carving up a strat kit as we speak.

Call it the chopocaster :-)

Nice job Steve, sounds great !!

Great job man, I love Hendrix techniques, you did it awesome :) \m/

Cheers. I should learn more of his stuff. May as well learn from a master.

Interesting. You are good with the guitar!

Well the decades of playing may be paying off :)

Hi @steevc Do you use some blockchain application to spread your music?

Only Hive and 3speak. Not sure what else there is that is useful to me, but then I do this mostly for fun.

Thanks for reply

I remember reading one of the method books where they tell you that you are not supposed to do that with your thumb, but then you look at most players and pretty much all of them do it. It must be like driving where they tell you to always use both hands but everyone drives around with only one hand on the wheel! Nice job on this!

A lot of players never had formal lessons and have bad habits, but they get by. Ideally you should have the guitar neck pointing up and your thumb planted on the back, but if it's hanging low that's awkward, so thumb over can be easier. I really don't know how some people play with their guitar down near their knees. Sometimes style takes precedence over technique.

I know that for bending notes it helps to wrap the thumb around the neck to get leverage. I've done classical guitar too where it's more formal.

Very interseting!