You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One Year Review of My IYV Guitar

in Guitar6 months ago

It looks great for the money. There don't seem to be many cheap guitars that are actually bad these days, unlike when I started playing. It's possible some come out of the same Chinese factories that build for some of the big names. They may just skip on some of the manual work, such as setup, to save money. I'm happy to hear you still enjoy it.

Rock on!

!BEER

Sort:  

There don't seem to be many cheap guitars that are actually bad these days, unlike when I started playing.

Cheap guitars back in the day were terrible. Most were almost unplayable. I agree though, some of these inexpensive guitars are really nice playing. I have seen some reviews of other cheap guitars where the frets wear rather quickly or some other glitch from using cheap materials. I've wanted to learn repair for a while now, and these inexpensive guitars are a great way to go IMHO. If something breaks I'll fix it. So far so good though over here.

They will use cheap parts, but the wood is all cut precisely by machines. At least we can choose how much we are willing to pay, but that may be based on things like where it was made and the sort of pickups. I have mostly decided these days to pay a bit more to be sure I am getting good quality goods so that I am less likely to want to upgrade later. When I started playing price was all important. I wish I'd had the choice of gear that is available now.

They will use cheap parts, but the wood is all cut precisely by machines.

That's exactly it. With the technology today everything is made with computers. Electronics have also come a long way and have gotten considerably cheaper over the last 30 or 40 years. You can get good machined parts and cheap electronics that work well.

I wish I'd had the choice of gear that is available now.

Gear and the access to information. No more having to go to the music store and find an overpriced book of tablature (if you could even find tab back then) Now we have Youtube, Udemy, and a ton of websites offering all kinds of free information. Just learning theory alone is easier now with the internet, not to mention all the tab sites. Most sites offer unlimited lesson material for around $9 a month. It's a great time to be a player!