The Dood Plays Fingerstyle Blues

in Guitar3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


I've been saying I'd post a 3speak of me playing the guitar for awhile now. I finally got comfortable enough with this piece to upload it. I started playing again after a 20 year break and I think it's now been about 9 months or so.

I wanted to learn fingerstyle guitar and this was my first attempt at it. I didn't write it, it's from a YouTube video I found when I first started playing again. This is the tutorial I learned from

I'm not playing it as well as the guy in the video and the timing is a little off. With a couple subtle differences.

I just picked up a fingerstyle blues guitar book too. I'll post an image in the comments because I don't know how to add it to the 3speak description. So I'm going to get a little more active on guitar posting now. I may try and post a video or two each month. I'd like to document my progress over time and see how much I improve over the next year.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Love it! I'm not a huge crypto person but I've found learning new pieces and documenting them here is such a huge help. Also christmas songs are the best. Most years when family is around over the break I get asked to play something, and usually I just freeze. No one wants to hear Guthrie Govan licks. Being able to play a solo acoustic guitar song is so good.

Thanks! I'm finally getting comfortable enough to start sharing some music. I was "all thumbs" getting started again.

The Christmas music was super helpful to start getting comfortable playing this way. For me, it's just so awkward playing this style. Concentrating on tempo, reading the music, keeping the rhythm, using my thumb and fingers. Its so confusing. Already knowing the xmas melodies really helped a lot, and the family did enjoy them at the holidays.

Being able to play a solo acoustic guitar song is so good.

Pretty much why I want to learn this style of playing. I love watching people play this style and I always said if I started playing again this would be the style I'd focus on.

I've found learning new pieces and documenting them here is such a huge help.

I thought it would be fun to document and see my own progress too. Plus I think it will really motivate me to improve.

Thanks for watching and commenting! Appreciate the input, I love your playing! Very inspirational!

That's sounding good already. You have a nice tone, which can be hard to develop. Just keep working on it. The timing does matter, so stomp your foot or something to get a beat going.

!BEER

Thanks man!

The timing does matter, so stomp your foot or something to get a beat going.

I get super nervous whenever I record anything for the internet. I don't know what it is, but I have to get over it. Maybe this will help 🤣

Here's the book I just started. I've wanted to learn this style of playing for a really long time. Over Christmas I learned a bunch of classical and fingerstyle xmas songs to get familiar playing this way.

fingerstyle.jpg


Hey @the-bitcoin-dood, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.