6 Feet Wide

in Threespeak - OLD4 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


So – I wrote a wee Covid-19 lullaby. I suppose it was bound to happen.

Have a listen; perhaps you'll find it relatable.

xo,
zippy


'6 Feet Wide'

roads are empty – schools are closed
all the people have been sent home
there's a silence in our cities
unlike anything we've known
while we rearrange our lives, in a world on pause
there's stillness on all sides, 6 feet wide

6 feet wide – 6 feet wide – 6 feet wide

everything looks different now, in such unfamiliar ways
long shadows creep down quiet streets
no brake-lights on the freeways
I don't mind the change the pace – it all moved too fast anyway
maybe we all needed a break
to slow down, and take some space

6 feet wide – 6 feet wide – 6 feet wide

I hear people sayin, 'make good use of your time in quarantine'
but, more pressure to be 'something better'
well, that's the last thing we need
no – you don't have to write that book
you don't have to get in shape
I think it's ok if we all take a moment to breathe into this place

6 feet wide – 6 feet wide – 6 feet wide

it's anyone's guess how this will all end
and, what kind of world it'll be
but I know we're resilient; we'll be ok, eventually
so I'll just keep reaching through this pixelated screen
'cause somehow we're growing closer
despite our distancing

6 feet wide – 6 feet wide – 6 feet wide


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

This is so pretty zippy!

Thank you, dear! <3 I appreciate you listening. :)

Wow, this is great! Good job.

Thank you kindly, my newly french-sounding friend! ;)

Great tune, my friend, you touch my heart

Grateful to hear that. Truly, what more could an artist hope for? :) <3

purty <3

Love you, Pechi. <3 Miss you, my dearest piglet.

amazing voice!

Glad to know you think so! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Always grateful to be featured – thanks for all your great work! :)

Wonderful... Thank you for sharing :)

Thank you for taking time to listen! :)

It's so good to hear your sweet voice and human-kind observations again, Zippy. Sending you much love! 💜💜💜

Very thoughtful lyrics. thanx

I hear people sayin, 'make good use of your time in quarantine'
but, more pressure to be 'something better'
well, that's the last thing we need
no – you don't have to write that book

It's nice to hear someone else say it, let alone sing it <3 <3 <3

Wow this is so amazing , you are so talented and beautiful 🍒💐🍒
I was happy to spend few hours with you .

so very beautiful, hope you are safe and sound, here in Spain we have had the strictest lockdown in Europe, we're still not allowed to walk for health, been 53 days indoors with not a single stretch of my legs out but once to hospital. We are hoping to be able to walk out May on, kids maybe Monday. My heart breaks a little knowing that things will be different but I love birds chirping, the bluer skies... I like the quiet streets... but I long to be able to walk, Nature, even not seeing anyone else. I'm just flowing ahead. And I agree, it seems you need to finish all pending things during this time, but I just try to thrive. Lovely voice Zippy!