You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spider Saturday - Wolf Spider

in Arachnids2 years ago

Haha, I love how you've modelled her. And she was so complaint, too! Indeed, a very small wolf spood. I think perhaps one of the Hogna sp. !PIZZA for you and her to share. And thank you for posting to the Arachnids community!

Sort:  

It definitely does seem to be in the hogna family. I used to go looking for giant wolf spiders in Arizona with a flashlight in a barn. You could see their little eyes in the darkness glowing from the flashlight. They were huge and fast though so I rarely caught one.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Ha, now that sounds like fun! We have some Geolycosa sp. here and they're quite large but not the largest, for wolf spiders. They burrow, too, so as soon as I get close to catch one, they skitter off and hide under the large rocks. I still need to check them off my spider checklist and it's been years!

Right I've seen those burrowing ones before, they had a bright orange color underneath but were gray on top. My favorite in Arizona were the wind scorpions, aka camel spider. I kept one as a pet then it laid purple eggs and little baby ones hatched. Sadly I was just a kid and didn't have a camera to document the process.