Spiderday - Cobalt Blue Tarantula

in Arachnids2 years ago

Here is my pet cobalt blue tarantula for this #spiderday
20201114_191244_copy.jpg
Look at this beautiful blue gal.

20201114_191428_copy.jpg
Her Latin name is Cyriopagopus lividus a tarantula species from Myanmar that lives in the jungle.

20171224_091720_copy.jpg
I keep her enclosure humid to try and replicate their jungle environment.

20171224_091052_copy.jpg
This is a photo from when I first bought her from the pet store as a young specimen. At this point I wasn't sure if she was female and its a risk you could buy a male accidentally at this size. The main problem with buying a male is that they only live a few years compared to the long 10+ year lifespan of a female.

20171231_100146_copy.jpg
So far I've had her for around seven years, males only live about five years max so fortunately I lucked out buying a female.

20171231_100324_copy.jpg
Her blue colors tend to change in different lightings. Sometimes she has more of a dark purple color but then she molts and turns bright blue.

20171231_100622_copy.jpg
This is her after a molt. Nice and blue throughout. As her skin hardens up a bit her thorax area gets gray and blackish with just her legs staying blue.

20171231_100739_copy.jpg
Here is what she looks like after a few days of exoskeleton hardening.

20171231_111225_copy.jpg
These cobalt blues are nice to look at but don't ever try handling them. They will bite anything that moves. Also they tend to make a burrow and hide in it so the only time I get to see her is during feeding time and cage cleaning time. They look quite beautiful when you finally do get to see them though. I recommend only experience spider keepers have one of these as a pet because of their aggressive nature and their need for a humid enclosure.

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

Stuff of nightmares!

She is a bit scary compared to my other pet arachnids.

Still, nice colours.

She also hides a lot so I don't really get to see those colors too often. I probably should have gotten a green bottle blue tarantula instead... Or maybe that will be my next pet lol.

Amazing Spideyy 🕷️

I wish she was a little less aggressive so I could take better photos of her.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @sketch.and.jam.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Beautiful. I've never seen a blue tarantula. "compared to my other pet arachnids"!!!! You've got more? You're holding out on us. Or maybe just holding out for another post?

Haha I posted the other three arachnids in this group earlier. I have a Chilean Rosehair tarantula, a vinegaroon, and an adopted daring jumping spider. Here's carl the vinegaroon 20181021_113052_copy.jpg

I often see Tarantulas at Sabino Canyon on the way up to Seven Falls. People that see them for the first time get a little freaked out. Some great colors on that one

I bet they are Arizona T. Blonde Aphonopelma chalcodes. When I lived there they would always come out during the monsoon rains. I kept an eye on one in a burrow next to my house for a good 8 years then I suspect a tarantula wasp got her and a toad took over her burrow lol.

Is it an ordinary spider

Only if ordinary spiders are blue.

She's beautiful!!!

I have to figure out a way to have a light/camera inside her underground burrow so I can see her colors more often.

They have those tiny cameras for nest boxes.

hi my friend @sketch.and.jam the tarantula that you show is very beautiful in color,, beats the tarantula I've ever shared..

But you have the amazing Sumatran Tiger tarantulas over there, they are a bit hard to find since they like hiding high up in the trees in the crevices of branches. They have a bit of blue in them with an orange thorax.
https://www.myhomenature.com/cyriopagopus-sp-sumatra-tiger-tarantula.html

 2 years ago  

She is absolutely gorgeous! I think female cobalts live for 20 years after their maturity molt. So you're going to have her a long while still!

!PIZZA

She's a good eater too unlike my Chilean that eats every other month.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@anikekirsten(4/15) tipped @sketch.and.jam (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

She has such a beautiful blue. Too bad some of it fades.

She is most blue after a molt, the main problem is she hides in her burrow most of the time and I hardly ever see her unless its feeding time lol.