Spiderday - Odds and Ends for the Garden

in Arachnids2 years ago

Here are a few odds and ends from the garden.
argiope_copy.jpg
This first gal is Argiope aurantia aka the yellow garden spider. I usually see one or two in the fall around here. They have an interesting zig zag in the middle of their web to fortify its strength for larger insects like June beetles and dragonflies.

gardenspider_copy.jpg
Here is an Orchard Spider (Leucauge venusta). They are another type of orb weaver that usually build their webs on the lower levels of shrubs and plants. They are another good way to keep the flies away from the garden.

harvestman3_copy.jpg
Here is a harvestman in the family Opiliones. These are strange spiders that will hunt for tiny insects but they also eat plant matter and fungi and don't really have any venom like a spider. Whatever insects they are eating must be very tiny, and I wonder how they even find them with their tiny eyes.

antmimic2_copy.jpg
This looks to be Castianeira longipalpis also known as an ant mimic spider. They walk fast like an ant and are barely larger than an ant.

antmimic_copy.jpg
As you can guess these guys feed primarily on ants, but they will also eat aphids as well.

p2060030_copy.jpg
Here is a juvenile phidippus audax.

p7190016_copy.jpg
These are commonly called daring jumping spiders. Their method of hunting is to launch themselves onto their prey. Their favorite food is the common house fly but they will attack anything around that size as well. I was able to trick this one into jumping on my hand for the photo. They are smart and have amazing eyesight and can navigate through all sorts of obstacles to get to their prey.

p6219046_copy.jpg
I think this is a very tiny recently hatched Platycryptus undatu.

p6219074_copy.jpg
I found this one on my window sill and it looked like a jumping grain of sand. I managed to get it to jump onto a plate where I was able to get a photo. Eventually it will grow into a medium sized jumping spider.

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

These are wonderful shots. Weldone buddy.

Next time I find an argiope I'll spend more time with a macro lens. They are amazing looking spiders.

Oh yeah, they are.

Those are wonderful spider. Some of these are beautiful of it's color. Nice photography

Some even have iridescent colors.

Happy Spiderday. I will have to start paying closer attention to spiders so I can keep up with your posts. It was very interesting last week when I was clearing some weeds in the yard, I saw lots of spiders and ants. Seems like they are out ahead of the other insects this spring. I love the colorful garden spider. I will be watching for the distinctive web thats new info to me.

There's quite a few different types of argiopes with each subspecies making a different zig zag pattern in the middle of their web. Keep an eye out for the tiny ant mimics if your ants are out already. This fall I suspect you may have a few decent looking spiders to post from your garden.

From some pictures of spiders, it is very clear in the discussion, which newly hatched ones are sick with their bites

The newly hatched ones are super tiny, almost like a grain of sand.

my first shot was amazed by the color of the spider

They usually come out around Halloween time, perfect coloring for the season.

Congratulations @sketch.and.jam! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 36000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 37000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from April day 21
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

Awesome shots of awesome spoods! And even a harvestman! I see so few posts with pics of harvestmen, and they're so cool and gentle. As to how they find prey with those two tiny eyes: their legs act as a sort of feeler which grants them a type of vision. Very sensitive to vibrations and smells.

One day I hope to find a clump of hibernating harvestman. I've seen a couple species of them around here though I still don't know their exact latin names. It makes more sense that their vision for hunting would be in their legs.