An Ode To The Past (Three Posts Worth Remembering)

in Three Challenges2 months ago

23rd February 2024


"In the end, all you'll ever have are memories, so make as many good ones as you can."

-Unknown


Greetings to Three Challenges Community members and its founders @livinguktaiwan and @mipiano. We are bound to overcome tough challenges in the real world, but here at Hive, it is always exciting and fun to accept them.

I felt nostalgic while taking an ode to the past in search for my three favorite posts from among all I had published in over two years of Hiving on this platform. Recollecting my past articles is also reminiscing good memories from those shared stories about my personal life, travel journey, photography, lifestyle, food, and more.

Picking three favorite posts isn't easy. It's similar to having to decide which three dishes to have from a table full of mouthwatering food. When they're all delicious and your favorites, how can you decide? After some mind deliberation, I came out picking the following three posts.

1. Unwinding In Disneyland

IMG_20240221_171901.jpg

As a person who loves traveling, I made a lot of travel goals, unfortunately, many of them haven't been achieved yet due to some circumstances. Back in 2021 when I was quite new on this platform, I made a bucket list, and visiting Disneyland, was one on the list. I didn't initially prioritize going to this place because getting there is somewhat costly. Fortunately, a blessing came, and I decided to cross this off my bucket list.

It was an early Christmas gift to myself, and the first expensive travel plan I pursued which made it one of my favorite posts. It was during those times when I thought I'd be leaving Hong Kong after my contract, so I wanted to visit iconic attractions as many as I could. However, fate made me extend my stay in this amazing region, and I never thought I'd be able to visit places beyond my bucket list.

Although this journey was written in three parts, including My Journey To The Happiest Place On Earth and A Night Tour In Disneyland Hong Kong, this post represents my whole journey in Disneyland. I laughed like a child and became enthralled with the small adventures in Disney Wonderland for the first time. It was like a dream come true for an ordinary lady who only wanted to see Mickey and Minnie Mouse, and the Disney Princesses' castle, but there were a lot of surprises as I stepped into this magical wonderland. Throughout my entire tenure in Hong Kong, that was the happiest day I had ever had. And that's when I decided to take my parents to this wonderland. I hope to visit with my remaining parent one day.


2. The Middle East of Hong Kong (Lung Kwun Tan Adventure)

cyxkEVqiiLy5czPNg6acYev351Du9gQgrBvuGckYR9PFdoemLQkaVyfaxHu9DKZnptpKj4Uk6X2riyLSjGSjfGxvQsGf9PTpSvyG1VCMDBymyGx4Jve9PjyQjQJn6FL4YNa.webp

My real exciting adventures outside my comfort zone started after my journey to Lung Kwu Tan. After a long hiatus, specifically three long years of not hiking, it was my very first hike in 2022 with my friend, and the beginning of our more adventures together. Who would have thought that Covid-19 would be a blessing in disguise, and made us reunited for the same reason? To travel around Hong Kong as much as we can

It was during the peak of the pandemic. While others were isolating themselves in the corners of their houses, we took the opportunity to wander around places with no crowd. This hike was our way to escape from Covid and bustling HK city. I felt suffocating living in the city where actions are limited and there were a lot of restrictions. We thought going to the mountains was the best option to unwind. Besides, we could freely remove our masks because there wasn't a crowd of people.

I love Kung Kwu Tan Mountain too. Autumn and winter bring brown hues to once-green landscapes. It seems, therefore, like a desert place in the Middle East. That's why I called it the Middle East of Hong Kong. So before spring arrived and the green grasses began to sprout once more, we seized the chance to hike the mountain to see the brown landscapes. Finding the correct trail was exciting and fun, but we made it to the summit before dusk. The view atop seeing the sunset was even more breathtaking. I truly enjoyed this hike with my friend.


3. A Food Masterpiece of Myself (WE117)

5s4dzRwnVbzGY5ssnCE4wXzkeAEXyVtgk1ApQTwHMTp6y5PvEo1yennAPgDr6AGoWJwUKhXtCFLnMVVZ1iH5K3ekvNK5BweSPXnvHWqfB1Tf9YAvdacMTrXtLnPRJq4keEMz4sD1ZDskxhgzrt9puG6xGQZAoLggeZsd4Ln.webp

In previous years, I felt too active and inspired to participate in different community contests. Among all the engagement topics I joined in the Weekend Experiences community, this was my favorite. The challenge involved utilizing only food to create an image of oneself. I'm not that creative when it comes to cooking, but I enjoy coming up with new ideas and doing enjoyable things in the kitchen.

This was prepared with items found in the kitchen, including chia seeds, flour, cheese, carrots, oranges, strawberry jam, and luncheon meat. Making a culinary masterpiece out of myself was enjoyable. It was inspired by a picture of me with my hair braided and a bucket hat on. I am not a good baker either, however, I was satisfied with the result of this creation. I never expected to see a cute food version of myself. But in the end, I just ate it 😂. This served as my lunch that day. It was a delightful one. The best reward was getting it to one of the best picks for the contest. Indeed, it was worth trying.


So these are my favorite posts worth remembering. As I was writing this blog, many more enjoyable trip experiences came to mind. This platform inspired me to travel more, face more challenges, and step out of my comfort zone. I'll be three years old on this platform next month, and I sincerely appreciate everyone who continues to read my stories. I just wish to stay longer until I can, and hope to join more wonderful challenges in different communities to meet new people, read their stories, and hopefully create good memories with them.

Thanks for your time.


•••


FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCXDhCdbKLssUZHyzgV8BMivE5JBKjj6Z1mXGKEa2poFtSmgk8UUkkrURjvkmRJDTSPWo525rjc3ZyuTfsicGv3jrGn5u45Mc3UzoYhkXFZRSLN.webp

IMG_20240124_202536.jpg

Jane is a Filipina wanderer in a foreign land who finds comfort in nature and freedom in writing. She loves watching raw picturesque landscapes, listening to the symphony of nature, breathing in drops of sunshine, walking through scenic trails and cityscapes, tasting new culinary flavors, capturing pretty little things, venturing into hidden gems, and dancing with the flow of life.

Her new experiences, adventures, challenges, lessons, small successes, and joys are colorful paints that fill up her canvas of life. She hopes to see it beautifully painted while she can.

Join her on her quest for self-discovery and wanderlust. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, drop a comment, reblog, and follow for more wonderful adventures.

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCXDhCdbKLssUZHyzgV8BMivE5JBKjj6Z1mXGKEa2poFtSmgk8UUkkrURjvkmRJDTSPWo525rjc3ZyuTfsicGv3jrGn5u45Mc3UzoYhkXFZRSLN.webp

You can also reach me on my socials and let's be connected: Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, noise.app, read.cash.

All photos are mine.


©All Rights Reserved 2024
(Unless Otherwise Stated)

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

I remember your food masterpiece post, that was so creative especially your braided hair!

Although I've lived in HK for many years, it seems like there are many places that I haven't been, so thanks to your blog (which I just realized I'm not following) I get to see a lot more.

Thanks for sharing your favourite posts with us especially Lung Kwu Tan which I haven' been before. Dropped you a little tip for that.

Thanks for following hehe. I guess Lung Kwu Tan is just among those hidden gems that are yet to be discovered by many people here in HK.
I loved that food masterpiece too ☺️ thanks

Picking three posts is not easy, that's why it is a real challenge 😁
But it seems you did it successfully!

The travel posts are great but the food masterpiece of yourself is awesome! 🔥

Btw, all the merits of the idea and creation of the community goes to Livinguktaiwan 😉

Thank you.. I wish I could add more.. But I guess one post is enough although we are allowed to post two hehe..

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @mipiano and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (4/10 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Greetings 👋
Choosing three of your posts for more than 2 years is a titanic task, but your selections were the right ones, the third option was the one that fascinated me the most, what creativity and your biography written in an inspiring way.
Thanks for sharing😊

Then I guess I should put it on top. I liked it the most too among the three hehe..
Thanks for stopping by. You should give this contest a try too ☺️

Great three choices. I have never been to Disney Land or Disney World here, maybe someday. I did not realize you had a three year hiatus from hiking. It must have felt good to get back to that 😊 You are creative, what you did with that food to appear like you is amazing! Thanks for sharing, friend 💚

!LUV
!HUG

There were many reasons why I wasn't able to go hiking. Until that journey to Lung Kwu Tan happened, then more adventures followed. Hehe.
Is there Disneyland in the US? I guess there is.. You should visit the happiest place on Earth for kids even if you aren't anymore hehe

!PIZZA
!LUV

coolmidwestguy, jane1289 sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/5) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

You should visit the happiest place on Earth for kids even if you aren't anymore hehe

Age wise no! At heart sometimes, hehe. There is two Disneys here 😊 Curious do you have a favorite Disney character?

jane1289, coolmidwestguy sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/3) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Dear @jane1289, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @coolmidwestguy.
(2/3)

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
jane1289 tipped coolmidwestguy
@jane1289(2/5) tipped @intishar

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @jane1289.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Unfortunately, I haven't read any of the posts you shared here. Hehe. Maybe I wasn't too much active like now. I hope I will read those posts whenever I am free.

!PIZZA
!LUV

jane1289, intishar sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/3) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Those were posted I guess when you weren't here yet hehe..
!PIZZA

A few days ago I read about this initiative and since then I've been trying to decide which are my three favorite posts. Not an easy task that I haven't completed yet, lol.

I love the ones you have chosen from yours. Your food masterpiece I remember perfect and it is a wonderful post.

Happy weekend 🤗

Sarap ng food article ang galing ng preparation. The Disneyland article is a good choice ang saya kaya dun. hehe

I think your food masterpiece is my favourite picture.

Love landscape on the second post... but the food masterpiece steals the show! :)