The steep streets, the ancient streets and lights on streets

The Three Challenges Community have a new challenge hosted by @mipiano, and this time it's about streets. It could be streets nearby where you live, or that you've visited, anywhere as long as you think they're special enough to be shared on Hive. Here are my selections.

The steep streets in Porto, Portugal

The first isn't a single street but a cluster of streets in Porto in Portugal. During my recent trip there, I found that Porto is a very hilly city. I seem to be constantly walking up steep streets only to come back down the next one and go back up another. There seem to be no ends to these steep streets, there was one every where I walked.

We walked down many small alley ways. Residential buildings lined both sides and some had some very interesting architectural features. It was quite difficult to see though, because they were so close. Then suddenly, a car came rambling down the very narrow alleyway and we all had to jump onto the buildings front door. It was quite crazy!


The ancient streets in Tsumago, Japan

The second street I want to show you is strictly speaking an ancient post town with one street running through it. The town is called Tsumago, and is on one of the two main routes connecting Edo (today's Tokyo) to Kyoto in the Edo period (1603 - 1868). Both Edo and Kyoto were important cities back in those days and many often had to make the 500km trip. Imagine walking that distance back in those days, you'll need somewhere to rest. These post towns provided that function, and there were 69 of them en route. Tsumago is the 42nd. I came to Tsumago a few years ago during one of my many trips to Japan.

In the 1970s, the locals started to restore the houses to what they looked like in the Edo era. They've done a very good job because you really feel like you're in the old days like you see in the movies. Cars aren't allowed here, there are no overhanging cables, and any modern-day utilities like electricity boxes are carefully concealed.

Anybody want to travel back in time should definitely come here.
DSC_0236.JPG

DSC_0244.JPG

DSC_0238.JPG


The lights on Regent Street, London

Saving the best to the last, a street from my favorite city London. This is Regent Street, one end connects to Oxford Street the famous shopping area in London and the other end is Picadilly Circus. You'll often see Piccadilly Circus in photos of London, with the big neon light screens and busy traffic around it. Regent Street is lined with beautiful buildings on both sides, but I couldn't tell you what architectural style they are.

I find Regent Street the most beautiful at Christmas, when they have the Christmas lights up. The first image below was from last Christmas, I was there at late afternoon so you can't really see the full impact of the lights.
20231220_155528.jpg

This was taken in 2021, isn't it just glorious with angels floating in mid air. I remember some years ago, the local authorities got stupidly politically sensitive, and put up some stupid non Christmas related lights. They said angels would offend non-Christians who didn't believe in Christmas. I'm not religious, but there's a limit to how much you should do to please people, and I think that was stepping over the mark. Good to know common sense has prevailed since.

You'll notice the decorations are the same in both years, I don't blame them for reusing the lights as I'm sure they are very expensive and it would be a waste to use them once.
20211211_162242.jpg

And going back even further to 2016. I attended a light festival that year in central London, and they had these giant objects in Regent Street. They were floating mid air, bobbing up and down with the gentle breeze like giantic monsters. It was so lovely.
20160116_214121.jpg

livinguktaiwan divider.png

Have you ever visited any special or interesting streets? Come and share with us in the Three Challenges Community https://peakd.com/c/hive-100848/created. Details of this challenge can be found here
https://peakd.com/hive-100848/@mipiano/the-three-most--streets

Sort:  

Regent Street does seem to get pretty good lights. When I was a kid we usually went to London at Xmas. Another attraction was the window decorations at Selfridges. I remember there was one year we didn't go as the IRA were quite active. Of course I've taken my kids a few times too.

That place in Japan must have been used in a few films.

!BEER

I always try to find an excuse to go out to London around Christmas time just to get a feel of the vibe, but sadly it's a bit of a trek for me.

Tsumago is one of the most well preserved post town in Japan, I wouldn't be surprised if its always used in films


Hey @livinguktaiwan, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I would have expected the one in Japan to be a lot wider and more grand. It looks like just a simple street and that is actually kind of cool. The lights in London are nice too. I probably would have just given up in Portugal!

Tsumago was used by travellers as a place to rest or maybe sleep, it just happened to be at the right location so probably never thought of development.

Very awesome!

Hooray!!! Streets from different parts of the world arrived here. How cool you made your contribution, thank you ;)

I know the Porto streets, there were a few steep ones haha, I especially felt them when I was hungry and while looking for a place where to eat, climbing was the last thing I wanted to do at that moment. Haha, yeas, when a car passes in one of those narrow streets (here in Spain it is the same case) you have to jump to the front door of a house to let the car pass 😂

Japan - I have never been to Japan... but now I know, that if one day I decide to walk the route of 500km between Tokyo and Kyoto, I can rest in Tsumago :D

The floating angels in Regent Street are lovely, I would not mind seeing the same ones every year 😇

You know me, I always like my travel posts😃

I was so surprised when I saw the car coming down I thought wtf!!!

So different, yet so beautiful! Very nice shots :)

Thanks, I figured it would be nice to show three very different styles. The random photos I took finally come in handy

Porto looks such a beautiful city. The sister in law and hubby spend many free weekends there and absolutely adore the place. Another to add to the bucket list I think. I really do need a bigger bucket lol

You need to start emptying your bucket!!!

!ALIVE

@livinguktaiwan! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ cryptoyzzy. (8/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

I have seen lots of Korean movies and I think the ancient streets feels like one of those streets I have seen in the movies. These are all beautiful☺️

Japan and Korea have are wuite close distance wise, maybe that's why

It is cute regardless

What beautiful and amazing streets, what crowded and interesting streets

So this is in London. Every Christmas season, there's a display like this at Lee Tung Avenue Wanchai..
Nice shots ☺️

image.png

Yup, that's one of the many nice Christmas views from London