Wasp carrying spider

in Fascinating Insects3 years ago (edited)

Insect carrying a dead spider

I got privy to an event where an insect was trying to carry a near-dead spider. It was trying to climb a wall on our terrace.

image.png

the insect

image.png

the almost dead spider

When I first came across the scene, I saw the spider still with the insect flexing its limbs. When the spider wasn't moving for a long time, I thought I could look at it closely. Trying to move it made me realize it wasn't dead yet, and I backed away to see what might happen next.
image.png

the insect started carrying the spider with one of its limbs. It struggled a lot. whenever it falls, it takes a few moments to stretch its limbs and give another go. the following images are in the process of carrying the spider across two tries.

image.pngimage.png
image.pngimage.png
image.pngimage.png

image.png

After reaching a level, it was scanning another wall, possibly for a proper way to climb that wall. But this wall was open to wind and it was becoming very difficult for the insect to carry the spider.

image.pngimage.png

my final pic before the wind blew the insect and the spider from my sight.

image.png

My observations:

  • I guessed the insect to be a wasp because it seemed to be trying to carry its prey to its hive.
  • Why does looking for the insect in google lens always end up with pest control?

all my edits are just crops.

Sort:  

Members of the family 'spider wasps' Pompilidae paralyze spiders to feed their larvae with them.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @azarmadr3.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more