IT FELT LIKE A DREAM (Part two)

in Fascinating Insects4 years ago (edited)

The Anthemis arvensis was blooming ...
(Enlargeable)
... and, day after day, I was searching for interesting details, on and around these flowers.
(Enlargeable)
That's how I found this Cucullia chamomillae caterpillar. I never saw an adult moth of that species. And, actually I didn't know anything about this caterpillar at the time, I found out the species only a minute ago, wile doing my Internet research for the post.
(Enlargeable)
The Cabbage white butterflies were always present during these small expeditions of mine, flapping around elegantly and silently, like some very strange kind of snowflakes.
IMG_7033 malo.jpg
I saw many Harvestmen resting on the flowers ...
IMG_7153 malo.jpg
... and many spiders of this species, the Neoscona adianta, waiting under the flowers, near their orbs.
IMG_7165 malo.jpg
Some flowers were kind of melted together ...
IMG_7168 malo.jpg
I don't know what causes this ... it looked like some strange mutation ... or the work of some pests ...
IMG_7167 malo.jpg
... and a mating pair of Hippodamia variegata Lady beetles was passing by while I was photographing this phenomenon.
IMG_7095 malo.jpg
A wide array of Hemipteran species was always at hand, some of those bugs I already showed you, like this very common and widespread Lygus pratensis ...
IMG_7097 malo.jpg
... but for this similarly shaped green one ... this is the first apearence in this series.
IMG_7102 malo.jpg
This is the Closterotomus norwegicus ... or some very similar species.
IMG_7019 malo.jpg
I already showed you this species yesterday ... but on this photograph you can see the mating. I still don't know the exact species. The family is Coreidae.
IMG_7208 malo.jpg
This small beetle feeding on pollen is the Mordella aculeata, a tumbling flower beetle species.
IMG_7192 malo.jpg
These Stenopterus rufus longhorn beetles are pollen and nectar eaters.
(Enlargeable)
Here is a wild, very probably solitary bee, I already introduced yesterday ... but in a different pose :) and on an enlargeable picture ... while on the photograph ...
IMG_8034 malo.jpg
... you can finally see a new species ... I mean, new for this series, of course.
IMG_7228 malo.jpg
To add a bit more species to this pollinators collection, I decided to continue with this Cylindromyia bicolor, from the Tachinidae family ...
IMG_7172 malo.jpg
... and the furry Bombylius canescens, a bee fly species.
IMG_8038 malo.jpg
While photographing this Gastrophysa polygoni leaf beetle ...
IMG_7766 malo.jpg
... I noticed this strange little thing ... and I absolutely have no idea what this is ... but I was inspired to take a picture of it. Then a bit further ...
IMG_7781 malo.jpg
... I noticed a strange flower ... it took some time before I realized that the strange part is a spider ...
IMG_7783 malo.jpg
... now on the photograph it seems pretty obvious ... but back then among all those intricate details, without the blurred background ... the scene had a different feel.
(Enlargeable)
This is the Runcinia grammica crab spider ... and I like how, when it takes this pose, becomes a harmonious part of the floral design.
IMG_7866 malo.jpg
A bit later I found another spider of this species ...
IMG_7863 malo.jpg
... and this one has caught a small, mosquito - like fly.
IMG_7288 malo.jpg
On that day I found also this interesting green cocoon.
IMG_7292 malo.jpg
The cocoon was incorporated in some larger silky shelter ... and surrounded by small plant parts, insect parts and spider’s empty exoskeleton.
IMG_7280 malo.jpg
I never saw an arrangement like this before.
(Enlargeable)
This is the work of the Aphantaulax trifasciata spider. I encounter these ground spiders in a variety of habitats. Here they build they silky retreats among the flowers, while in the woods I often see their construction among the oak leaves on the lower branches and in the cavities of rotten trees.
IMG_7154 malo.jpg
From the late afternoon ...
IMG_7323 malo.jpg
... as the night is slowly approaching ... the crickets and their small nymph versions are getting more active ...
IMG_7161 malo.jpg
... along with click - beetles ...
IMG_7246 malo.jpg
... and various moths.
IMG_7245 malo.jpg
I caught two species for this post ...
IMG_7115 malo.jpg
... but I couldn't catch their names ...
(Enlargeable)
... so I have to present them nameless. And now ... with moths getting ready for action ...
IMG_7266 malo.jpg
... and the diurnal protagonists, like this wasp ...
IMG_7248 malo.jpg
... this bee ...
IMG_7256 malo.jpg
... and the longhorn beetle ... ready for the night rest ...
(Enlargeable)
... is time to end another episode ... as always in these posts on HIVE, the photographs are my work ... TO BE CONTINUED ...

Sort:  

This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here

An incredibly good series of fantastic pictures. I have never discovered the Cucullia chamomillae caterpillar before.

Fantastic!

It was the first time that I saw this caterpillar, then after a bit of searching on Internet I found out the species. I never saw the moth.

!discovery 40

That's an insane number of flowers! The image is just so surreal!
Love the caterpillar shot. That's intense. You can see hairs on its head! And I love the design on him. Can you see, like, fish in a line?
Also love the shot that looks the moth right in the eye.

Incredible work.

True , many insects have beautiful intricate patterns and various cool designs, searching and photographing this stuff is fascinating and very immersive.