Moth Trap Report: 19th October 2020

Sharing the results from my latest Moth Trap Session. I have written posts about setting up a moth trap and on collecting the results if you want some more background info on how and why I use a Moth Trap

Date: 19th October 2020
Weather: It has been mostly dry today. On the chilly side but it is October so that is expected. The wind is noticeable and in due to become increasingly strong as the evening progresses. There is thick cloud cover and we are forecast rain in the early hours of the morning.

_MG_1022.JPG

Its not looking good to be honest, but it is always pot-luck when Moth Trapping at this time of year. To protect the Trap from the wind and potential rain, I have moved it closer to the house.

Results: 0 moths of 0 species!!

blank moth.JPG

Summary of Results:

Bah!

I wasn't expecting to see/catch a great deal due to the weather conditions and the time of year, and it turns out I didn't get anything! And even though I wasn't surprised, it was still disappointing.

It has just gone past midnight here, it is blowing a gale and I felt a few drops of rain. With nothing to show for my efforts I called it quits and brought everything inside before the rain really arrives.

_MG_1025.JPG

It is possible to see Moths even in the middle of Winter, but you generally need favourable conditions and preferably be located near prime habitat (Woodland is generally best). I won't get nothing in this garden and believe me I have tried for the last 4 years. It is pretty much a waste of electricity.

So on that note I will pack everything away for this year. You can see the grubiness of the trap in the image below.

_MG_1026.JPG

Its a combination of mud, dirt, water marks and moth poo.

Yes I did say poo. They can be messy little sods.

I will take the trap apart and wipe it down with a cloth and hot water, dry it off properly and then put it away.*

Next Spring (somewhere in March) I will dig the Trap back out, dust it off and start a brand New Year of Moth Trapping. And once again I will share my results on here

*Unless there are really good weather conditions, never say never haha!



I couldn't finish this post without including a beautiful moth for you all to admire!

Herald Moth0050PP.jpg
Herald - Scoliopteryx libatrix

Not seen tonight, this distinctive moth over-winters (almost like hibernating) as an adult. This means it is often one of the last species to be seen at the end of the year, and one of the first to be seen at the start of the next year.

This individual was seen in March 2019, and hopefully I will it again in March next year, and I'll keep my fingers crossed!


Notes on Pictures: Since I started moth trapping 4 years ago, I have been slowly building up collection of Library Images. The idea being that once I have taken a picture of a particular species of Moth, I don't need another picture of the same species a year later. It’s a waste of time and energy. I only take pictures of new species, or of moths that are difficult to ID, so I can get the records verified.

While in my care, all individuals are looked after, and after Photographs have been taken, they are all released safely outside.

All names confirmed and checked via Wikispieces

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

Facebook - Instagram - 500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

Sort:  

Hi @dannewton,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations @dannewton! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month

The photo is lovely as always! Love the detail and reflection.