Painted lady invasion

in Fascinating Insects4 years ago

Painted Lady butterfly lavender 1.jpg

ENPL
Apparently this is one of the most common butterflies out there. So why do I have only one old shot of it? Well maybe because I have some unexplained fear of moths and butterflies and I tend to stay away (or run away of you prefer) from them. But work in progress and I am ok shooting them now. If they stay relatively still.Jest to ponoć najbardziej pospolity motyl. Tylko dlaczego ja mam tylko jakieś stare jego zdjęcie sprzed kilku lat? Ano pewnie dlatego, że mam jakąś dziwaczną fobię zazwyczaj trzymam się z daleka (albo uciekam z piskiem) od wszelakich ciem i motyli. Ale pracuję nad tym i już nie jest tak źle. Zrobię im z bliska zdjęcia. Jeśli za bardzo się nie ruszają..

Vanessa cardui


Painted Lady butterfly lavender 3.jpg

ENPL
Commonly knows as Painted lady and both make and female have those amazing orange colours. On the inside with some white spots on the outside more grey, but there is that patch of coral colour. That coral is probably my favourite part!Znany również jako Painted lady (a jak po Polsku?) i obie płcie mają te piękne pomarańczowe kolory. Od strony wewnętrznej z białymi ciapkami, od zewnętrznej są bardziej szare, ale za to mają niesamowitą, koralową plamę. I ta koralowa część jest zdecydowanie moją ulubioną.


Painted Lady butterfly lavender 2.jpg

Painted Lady butterfly lavender 4.jpg

Painted Lady butterfly lavender 5.jpg

Painted Lady butterfly lavender 6.jpg

ENPL
And they are hairy! And who doesn't like hairy creatures? :)I są włochate! A kto nie lubi włochatych stworzeń? :)


Painted Lady butterfly lavender 7.jpg

ENPL
The lavender that my mum tries to plant everywhere she can seem like a real treat for them. There were times few of those was flying around. Adding up some other types of butterflies, bees and bumblebees and it look like a true invasion.Krzaki lawendy, które moja mama sadzi gdzie popadnie są widać prawdziwym przysmakiem. Chwilami było ich kilka sztuk. Dodać do tego jeszcze kilka innych rodzajów motyli, pszczoły i trzmiele i mamy prawdziwą plagę.
Some had very damaged wings and I think I know why. They are true travelers. Just like birds they migrate to Africa and then back to Europe:Kilka z nich miało bardzo uszkodzone skrzydła i teraz już wiem dlaczego. Podróży im się zachciało! I tak jak ptaki migrują sobie do Afryki i potem z powrotem do Europy:


image.png
Graphic by © Sémhur / Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0, Link

ENPL
How many can you see?Ile motyli widzicie?

Painted Lady butterfly lavender 8.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

Q banner.png

»»-------------¤-------------««

Sort:  

I love these Painted Ladies... I have not seen one here this year, or not yet at least. Like you say, they are migratory, so some years we see loads of them, and some years we only see a few.

Time will tell what will appear this here, thanks for sharing these beautiful images!

I was really surprised to see so many of them at that time! Not complaining. They are very pretty :)
There are some cool articles on their migration. It can take few generations to make the round there and back. Very impressive!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 19 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1


Hey @ewkaw, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

policzyć motylki to nic!
ale policzyć oczka na motylku!
to jest zadanie! 🤩
śliczne są 🦋

a Painted Lady to oczywiście Malowana Lala :)

No kurcze jak nic Malowana lala! :D
Jak mogłam zpomniec!

you have captured a beauty.

Thanks! :)

You are welcome sir

Beautiful against the purple lavender! Memorable visual dreamy atmosphere.

I was there every day checking if there are any new ones :)

Beautiful flowers with butterfly!

Thank you :)

Can you say where did you capture?

In Poland, around May/June.

The last photo with the violets and the butterflies is just poster perfect. Love it. I count 7 and a bee.

I can't wait to show my 4 year old grandson the hairy butterfly. His favorite book now is the Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle and he particularly likes the part where the caterpillar breaks out of its cocoon and became a colorful butterfly. The hairy butterfly photo will show my grandson exactly what happened to the caterpillar.

Great post. Thanks for sharing.

I think there is a little moth of the very right too :)

Ohhh that is so cool! Please tell me his reaction! From a distance you cannot tell they have so much fur.
I am sure he will love to see it!

These are stunning photographs, love the crystal clear surface of butterflies. The violets and the butterfly are an awesome combo in your post. Thanks for sharing 😊

Thank you! I am glad they picked this colour flowers too :)

What's the beautiful!!!
I haven't seen so many butterflies together for a long time!

Me too. That Lavender was like a butterfly magnet :)

Lavender looks very beautiful when it blooms!
And a lot of nectar for butterflies and bees :-)))