Spider mite attack

in Fascinating Insects3 years ago

spider mites yellow flower 2.jpg

Few days ago we went for a little trip to the countryside. Typically at this time of they year it is already getting dry and plants look pretty miserable if not watered. But insects are active and quite easy to find.

The first one I saw right when I stepped out of the car. It was really hard not to see it. It was all over the place!

The damn little red spider mites!

spider mites yellow flower 1.jpg

spider mites yellow flower 4.jpg

Hot, dry conditions are often associated with population build-up of spider mites. Under optimal conditions (approximately 27 °C), the two-spotted spider mite can hatch in as little as 3 days, and become sexually mature in as little as 5 days. One female can lay up to 20 eggs per day and can live for 2 to 4 weeks, laying hundreds of eggs.
source

So you can imagine the amount of them in just a few warm and dry days or weeks. The lawn that looked so nice filled with yellow flowers was also filled with the little buggers sucking up on whatever was growing there.

They were EVERYWHERE!

spider mites yellow flower 3.jpg

spider mites yellow flower 5.jpg

Bees didn't seem to be bothered or simply ignore them. There are more important things to do that dealing with them.

spider mites yellow flower 6.jpg

Did I mention they were everytwhere?

spider mites white flower.jpg

spider mites yellow flower.jpg

As a bonus something much nicer.
He was flying all around sitting here and there for a few second. This is the only photo I managed to take before he run away again.

orange butterfly hay.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hi ewkaw,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 59 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
13


Hey @ewkaw, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

WHOA I’ve never seen that many spider mites at once before! I’ve only ever seen the occasional mite running around solo. This is wild!

He was probably lost :P
It seems to happen here pretty often at this time of the year. Nasty things!

I have seen such insects housed inside different flowers. These are really weird. Nice photography

They are evil!
Thanks a lot :)

I did not immediately realize that the "red dots" on the flower are ticks. :)

Sneaky little things! :D

More like ticks than spiders!

Definitely not ticks :) Much smaller too.
Spider mite

Yes, they really look like Spider mite)

I have never seen such a large concentration of these things over such a large area. I have to imagine some creature will take advantage of this free spider mite feast.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Now I ill have to look up for their natural predators. There must be some, right?

OMG! I have never seen that many concentrated on one flower! These were pretty incredible shots!

Good morning from here, Ewa! @ewkaw

Thank you! I think few years ago it was worse. They were on every plant! Not just those flowers but on grasses and other buds. The are must be their annual meeting spot or something :D

Good Afternoon Denise :D It's lunchtime here.

The spider mite attack looks quite artistic actually! Well spotted and photographed.

But the butterfly, I especially love, they remind me of my daughter 🦋