Will this be a Giant Short-antennaed Grasshopper? [EN] // ¿Sera este un Chapulín de Antenas Cortas Gigantes? [ES]

in Fascinating Insects3 years ago
These last few weeks we have seen some giant short antennae grasshoppers, and I say giant because we had always seen them at most about 5 centimeters long, these easily triple their size, Last week they were in one of the cactus that my sister-in-law has in the window of her house and I barely managed to take a couple of pictures of which the only one came out well focused, I tried to grab it and it immediately flew away making that characteristic noise that they usually make with their wings and that to tell the truth for an insect is a pretty loud noise.



Today around noon when I was still finishing preparing lunch, my sister-in-law tells me that there was one of these in one of the milkweed/papaya plants, and I immediately ran out to the stairs to see if I could get a good picture of this giant, it is really impressive the size of its legs, and although I did not get a picture as accurate as I wanted, I was able to get close enough to take a few, to tell the truth, I feel as if this friend was posing for me.



I was certainly a little nervous because I only thought that, if it jumped towards me, I would end up at the bottom of the stairs because the jump that I was going to make because of the impression would not have been normal at all. Grasshoppers, grasshoppers or crickets have always made me a little nervous because their legs with that kind of spikes are very similar to those of cockroaches and just imagining the comparison makes my skin crawl, however, that does not stop making them fascinating, because thanks to those same legs they are able to jump great distances.



Their huge eyes are really something fascinating, I have always said it, in these insects are inspired to make great horror movies and even the costumes of some alien movies, because to tell the truth they do not seem from this planet hahaha. This huge short-winged grasshopper is really fascinating, minutes before landing on the milkweed plant was devouring another small cricket, which seemed to be something strange because as far as I know, these are herbivorous animals, unless I am confused species.



To tell the truth, I have some confusion regarding this immense grasshopper, as some tell me that it is a locust, which certainly is an acridid just like the grasshopper but is characterized by always being in the company or in flocks, something I have not been able to see with these little friends because on the occasions that we have been able to see them we only see one of them.



Another thing that characterizes lobsters is that they are capable of devouring flat plants in their path and telling the truth, although for an instant I thought I would see this one eat my milkweed at no time did it do so.



Something that caught my attention a lot of this giant, is that at first seemed to look for a way to hide behind the leaves of milkweed, in fact, took with his two front legs a piece of the leaf and seemed to want to cover his face, he did this a couple of times as you can see in the pictures, and then realizing that it would not do anything just relaxed, I could get a little closer and make all the pictures that I share here. If any of you can tell me the exact species of this grasshopper I would be grateful.



Images of my property, taken with the camera of my Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Edited with Snapseed.


Thank you for taking the time to read this post, if you have any questions, criticisms, or suggestions, I would appreciate it if you would put them in the comment box, and remember, You too can make magic in the kitchen and wherever you go!


[ES]





Estas últimas semanas hemos visto algunos chapulines de antenas cortas gigantes, y les digo gigantes porque siempre los habíamos visto de como máximo unos 5 centímetros de largo, estos fácilmente triplican su tamaño, la semana pasada estaban en uno de los cactus que tiene mi cuñada en la ventana de su casa y apenas alcance a tomarle un par de fotos de las cuales solo una salió bien enfocada, intente agarrarlo y de inmediato salió volando haciendo ese ruido característico que suelen hacer con las alas y que a decir verdad para un insecto es un ruido bastante fuerte.



Hoy a eso del medio día cuando aún estaba terminando de preparar el almuerzo, mi cuñada me comenta que había uno de estos en una de las plantas de lechosa/papaya, y de inmediato salí corriendo a las escaleras para ver si lograba una buena fotografía de este gigante, es realmente impresionante el tamaño de sus patas, y aunque no logre una foto tan precisa como la quería, pude acercarme lo suficiente para tomarle unas cuantas, a decir verdad siento como que si este amigo estaba posando para mí.



Ciertamente tenía un poco de nervios pues solo pensaba que, si saltaba hacia mí, iba a parar al final de la escalera pues el salto que iba a dar yo por la impresión no habría sido nada normal. Los saltamontes, chapulines o grillos siempre me han generado algo de nervios pues sus patas con esa especie de púas son muy parecidas a las de las cucarachas y nada más de imaginar la comparación se me encrespa la piel, sin embargo, eso no deja de hacerlos fascinantes, pues gracias a esas mismas patas son capaces de saltar grandes distancias.



Sus enormes ojos son realmente algo fascinante, siempre lo he dicho, en estos insectos se inspiran para hacer grandes películas de terror e incluso los trajes de algunas películas de extraterrestres, porque a decir verdad no parecieran de este planeta jajaja. Este inmenso chapulín de alas cortas es realmente fascinante, minutos antes de posarse en la planta de lechosa estaba devorándose a otro pequeño grillo, lo cual me pareció algo extraño pues hasta donde se estos son animales herbívoros, a no ser que este confundida de especie.



A decir verdad, tengo algo de confusión con respecto a este inmenso chapulín, pues algunos me dicen que es una langosta, que ciertamente es un acrídido al igual que el chapulín pero que se caracteriza por estar siempre en compañía o en bandadas, algo que no he podido ver con estos amiguitos, pues en las ocasiones que los hemos podido ver solo vemos a uno de ellos.



Otra de las cosas que caracteriza a las langostas es que son capaces de devorar las planas a su paso y a decir verdad, aunque por un instante pensé que vería esta comerse mi planta de lechosa en ningún momento lo hizo.



Algo que me llamo muchísimo la atención de este gigante, es que en principio parecía buscar la manera de esconderse tras las hojas de lechosa, de hecho, tomaba con sus dos patas delanteras un trozo de la hoja y parecía querer taparse la cara, esto lo hizo un par de veces como podrán ver en las imágenes, y ya luego al percatarse de que no le haría nada simplemente se relajó, pude acercarme un poco y hacer todas las fotografías que aquí les comparto. Si alguno de ustedes puede decirme la especie exacta de este chapulín les estaría agradecida.



Imágenes de mi propiedad, tomadas con la cámara de mi Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Editadas con Snapseed .

Gracias por tomarse el tiempo de leer esta publicación, si tiene alguna pregunta, crítica o sugerencia, la agradecería que la pusiera en la caja de comentarios, y recuerda, ¡Tú también puedes hacer magia en la cocina ya dondequiera que vayas!


Created by @robinsonlgil









Come and support @Cervantes as Witness in https://peakd.com/me/witnesses


@Ecotrain Discord
@Templo Discord
https://steemitimages.com/640x0/https://ipfs.busy.org/ipfs/QmNmqVvqjT9vUukyqi1PWVvceFNA32BUqpMj1kME7PdSib @upmewhale Discord
@Splinterlands Discord















Created by @derangedvisions

Sort:  

I have seen this insect in my flield and where did see this?

Love the pictures. So sharp and fresh 😍