Daddy longlegs macro shots

in Fascinating Insects4 years ago (edited)

Today I spotted a Crane fly on the window of my house. Since it was sitting still I could grab my macro lens to take some detailed pictures of it.
In our country we call this insect 'long legged musquito' but the English wikipedia mentions a much cooler name; Daddy longlegs 😁
I always like looking up info on wikipedia and other sites. This way you will keep learning.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crane_fly

What I learnt about the Crane fly is that they don't bite or sting like other musquitoes because they have reduced jaws. I always thought they could sting!

You can clearly see the tentacles on the following shot.
image.png

What I couldn't find is what the two little teardrop-shaped protrusions underneath the wings are for. So if anyone knows, please leave it in the comments.
image.png

On this picture you can even see them better.
image.png

The quality gets less when you zoom in, but still it's fascinating to see:
image.png





banner.png


Earn free crypto's by brewing virtual beer with Cryptobrewmaster
image.png