The wasp closed its nest | Photographs

Hello friends insect lovers,

I am passing by to share with you some very peculiar pictures I took a few days ago while I was in the garden doing some gardening, cleaning and arranging some plants. By then, my attention was caught by the buzzing of a wasp that was flying around, of course I was alert because it could sting me and it was a big wasp of about 4 cm.

Cautiously I started to observe her and the curious thing is that I could see that she was carrying a worm trapped between her legs, I followed her with my eyes and that took me to her nest where she quickly tried to put the worm through a small hole, I found it amazing, in the following images you can see a little of what I'm talking about.

Hola amigos amantes de los insectos,

Paso por aquí para compartirles unas fotografías muy peculiares, hace algunos días mientras estaba en el jardín haciendo un poco de jardinería, limpiando y arreglando algunas matas, me llamó la atención el zumbido de una avispa que estaba volando alrededor, por supuesto estuve alerta porque podría picarme y era una avispa grande como de unos 4 cm.

Con cautela me puse a observarla y lo curioso es que pude ver que llevaba un gusano agarrado en sus patas, la seguí con la mirada y eso me llevo a su colmena donde rápidamente ella intentó meter el gusano por un pequeño agujero, me pareció asombroso, en las siguientes imágenes pueden ver un poco de lo que les hablo.

photo_2021-05-26_12-22-09.jpg

photo_2021-05-26_12-22-12.jpg

photo_2021-05-26_12-22-13 (2).jpg

photo_2021-05-26_12-22-14.jpg

photo_2021-05-26_12-22-17.jpg

Almost in the blink of an eye, with absolute skill and dexterity, the wasp managed to get the worm through that little hole, I guess it must be to feed her larvae in there, or maybe other wasps. I don't know how I had the chance to take these pictures because it all happened so fast, she put her food in her nest and left.

The next day I went back again to observe the nest hoping to see the wasp there and be able to photograph her better, but to my surprise she had already closed the hole in the nest, the same hole where the day before she managed to get the worm in, as you can see in the pictures now the hole is completely closed. Since then, I have been watching the nest because I suppose she will return there at some point, but so far I have not done it, she disappeared.

Casi en un abrir y cerrar de ojos, con absoluta habilidad y destreza, la avispa logró introducir el gusano por ese pequeño agujero, yo supongo que debe ser para alimentar a sus larvas allí dentro, o tal vez a otras avispas. No sé como me dio chance de tomar estas fotografías porque de verdad que todo fue muy rápido, ella guardó su comida en la colmena, y se fue de allí.

Al día siguiente regresé nuevamente para observar la colmena con la esperanza de conseguir a la avispa allí y poder fotografiarla mejor, pero para mi sorpresa ella ya había cerrado el agujero del nido, el mismo por donde el día anterior logró meter al gusano, como pueden ver en las fotografías ahora el orificio está completamente sellado. Desde entonces, he estado pendiente de observar la colmena porque supongo que ella regresará allí en algún momento, pero hasta ahora no lo he hecho, desapareció.

before
after

photo_2021-05-26_12-21-39.jpg


All photographs in this post were taken by me with a Samsung S9 phone.

Todas las fotografías de esta publicación fueron tomadas por mi, con un teléfono Samsung S9.


Banner Gregcoin.gif

Sort:  

Hi gregcoin,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @gregcoin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!