Polyphemus Moth Photos -- Antheraea Polyphemus (male)

in Fascinating Insects4 years ago

A collection of photos I took of a freshly eclosed (hatched) polyphemus moth.

This will be my first contribution to this "Fascinating Insects" community, which I'm happy to be a part of. It's also the first post I've made to any Steemit community. I have a lot of photographs and knowledge of fascinating insects that I'm excited to start sharing here! 😁🐛🐝🐜🐞

But this post will focus on just this one polyphemus moth, one of many tens of thousands that I've bred and raised from eggs to adults.

IMG_8631.jpg
This is perhaps my favorite image that I've taken of one of these polyphemus moths, with his host plant the oak leaves. I took this with an inexpensive compact camera-- the Canon S110 is surprisingly good for critter closeups!

All of these moth photos are pictures I took of the same single adult polyphemus moth one afternoon out in the yard.

But I thought it might be interesting to include some photos I took of the earlier stages too:
poly.jpg
From eggs, to hatchling larvae which eat their own eggshell before moving on to devour the leaves of their host plant. The larvae move through several "instars"-- stages of larval development punctuated with the shedding of their old skin, with occasional changes to their markings, color, and size as they progress. In the final instar, when they are finished eating, the larva will drop down from their tree and wander away to find a place to shed its skin one last time after enclosing itself in a cocoon of silk.

1146782_494870850590871_427490856_o.jpg
These are a variety of cocoons, with large cecropia moths on the bottom, some polyphemus cocoons mixed in with luna moths and other species on the plastic lid.

1097791_494870823924207_59651376_o.jpg
The critter inside of the cocoon is the pupa, which can be cautiously removed without harming it. I haven't taken a lot of images of the cocoon stage, but this image which is actually a different species of "Saturnid" (Giant Silk Moth) will have to do. But you get the idea, there's the cocoon, and the dormant critter inside.

IMG_8686-3.jpg
Ok, back to the images of this one particular Polyphemus moth. The antennae of this male are used to locate the females, who sit still after hatching from their cocoon and "call" males from many miles around to mate using pheromones. The males, like this one, fly very long distances late at night, following the scent of pheromones for miles until they can locate the female and attach to her and mate.

IMG_8653-2.jpg
The large "eyespots" on the wings are thought to have been naturally selected to intimidate potential predators.

IMG_8637.jpg
When threatened they will often just lie flat with their wings open to display their eyespots.

IMG_8653.jpg
Thanks for taking a look and giving me upvotes. I've taken thousands more pictures of different species of Fascinating Insects that I'm excited to start sharing here! 😁🐛🐝🐜🐞

Sort:  

Welcome to the community. :)

Great article full of fantastic pictures, containing very interesting information!