You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New insect photos from our garden. / Neue Insektenfotos aus unserem Garten.

No, I haven´t read the articles, I can see they are 3 years old, I was not even on Steem back then :) I will check them out. But yeah, I know some insects are very intelligent. I know, for example, that the leaf cutter ants are smart enough to cultivate fungus as food for their larvae :) By primitive, I didn´t mean intelligence but rather complexity and size of the creature. I mean taking photos of copulating insect would be less awkward for me than it would probably be with some large mammals for example.

Sort:  

I know what you mean. :)

However, even if small, some insects are rather complex built ... when you have read the mentioned articles, maybe you will be fascinated about teir brain structure, too.

It is always difficult to decide about what is 'real' (cognitive) intelligence or even conscious acting, and what 'only' fascinating, but inherent behaviour ...

Yeah, that´s true :) I used to keep various crustacean species when I was younger (and when my lifestyle allowed me to do that) and I must have spent hundreds of hours just observing them while being fascinated by their skills and interesting behaviour. And yet, they were "just" crustaceans... So yeah, I know what you mean ;) Every creature on Earth has its own unique way to impress.