Sort:  

I don't mind discussion. :) I was just disappointed with the procedure. I understand that the possibility to take a focus staked photo of an insect is almost zero, but maybe there is a less harmful way of doing it.

yes, there are less harmful ways!
like, put them into fridge. tho this do not work for spiders and wasps, but works well for moths and butterflies. they pose well after that procedure -- and do not die.

It's good to hear that there is an option. 👍

still, myself I prefer to work with mushrooms. they do not disagree and willing to pose :P even if the lighting is bad, sometimes you have a time period to comeback when the lighting is changed to better :P
but i am happy to learn from superior collegues. their experience and know-how in macro photography amazes me.

Don't get me wrong.
I do enjoy macro photography, and I appreciate @brianhphotos willingness to share the experience and know-how with the community. I'd like to improve my photography skills, and I'm greatly thankful for the tutorials. But you dragged me into a discussion about morality and math. :) I may have naively imagined how it is possible to take great detailed photos without editing and victims.