Beautiful Sunday - A couple butterflies, bee mimics and dragonflies.

in Fascinating Insects4 years ago (edited)

Here are a few of my insect finds today for #fascinatinginsects and #beautifulsunday
P6208434.jpg
I took a walk in the prairies and the milkweed is starting to bloom right now. There were quite a few different butterflies out.
P6208463.jpg
This is a Great Spangled Fritiliary. There are quite a few different butterflies that look similar to this guy.
P6208436.jpg
If you ever want to find butterflies just go where there is alot of milkweed growing.
P6208450.jpg
Nearby on more milkweed I saw this little butterfly.
P6208443.jpg
This angle helped me identify him. The large white spot under the wings identifies it as a Silver-Spotted Skipper.
P6208453.jpg
These little guys are pretty tame and you can even get close enough with a mobile phone to get photos.
P6208470.jpg
Quite a few dragonflies were out as well. This is a widow skimmer.
P6208457.jpg
Here is a Banded Pennant dragonfly.
P6198403.jpg
Nearby I noticed a Red-wing blackbird flying into action. He caught a different species of dragonfly in mid-air. At least he got a nice meal that he might bring home to his family. I suspect he caught a Yellow-sided Skimmer.
P6198419.jpg
Finally I noticed a large bee mimic in a wild rose. This large fly only looks like a bumblebee. I suspect this might be a type of robberfly or possibly a large hoverfly. Surrounding this large fly are a bunch of tiny little hover flies. They really love the pollen from this wild rose.

Sort:  

Beautiful photos 👍

Stunning Shots!
Absolutely Awesome!
Have A Great Sunday!
👍🏼😁👍🏼

Thanks, It's a perfect start of a summer here for all the insects.

Looks like it!
Down here we're already
at the next stage...
Have A Great Eve.
👍🏼😁👍🏼

Yikes the hot summer right? I suspect it won't even get over 90 this year.

It's been over 90,
everyday since the
end of May...
Already have seen
106!!!

Consider the bright side at least you don't get subzero winters.

Your photos are incomparable !!!

Thanks :-) quite a few bugs are out right now in the prairie grasses. I went looking for mushrooms but found butterflies instead.

:-)))
Whatever you find, everything looks very beautiful in your photos!
Butterflies are very beautiful!

Thankfully I had my zoom lens with me. Otherwise it would have been tough trying to get them with just my phone.

I guess I need to also buy a macro lens for the tablet and phone.
True, I have no idea how much it costs :-)))

Colorful mushroom photos are also very nice.

Poor little dragonfly.... but the bird need to eat too.

It was amazing how easily the bird caught him out of the air.

Congratulations @sketch.and.jam! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I love these! Very beautiful. You got a sharp and brilliant camera.

Yeah my zoom lens only does well in bright sunlight. Otherwise all my shots turn out blurry lol.

It was strange that the bird caught the beetle.

They are expert at it. It looked so easy for him to swoop into the air and catch it.

Yes like frogs.

Haha if only they would eat all the mosquitos.