Pet Tarantulas

Here is my pet cobalt tarantula
PSX_20201116_173529.jpg
She decided to come out of her hole for a cricket.
PSX_20201116_173318.jpg
Here you can see the poor cricket in her fangs.
PSX_20201116_173230.jpg
I rarely get to see her as they like to sit in their burrows and conserve energy.
PSX_20201116_173409.jpg
In normal light without the camera flash she appears sort of purple.
IMG_20171231_112550_150.jpg
I had to switch to a glass enclosure as her foot hooks were able to climb on plastic.
IMG_20171224_092636_241.jpg
Here is another shot where she looks more purple than blue.
IMG_20160723_143502.jpg
Here is my Chilean Rosehair tarantula in some blue led light. She looks like a hairy version of the cobalt tarantula.
IMG_20160831_072022.jpg
Here is what she looks like in normal light.
IMG_20160824_175828.jpg
This gal can be handled and is very docile. The cobalt tarantula is mean and will bit if you try to handle her. The main reason for this is the rosehair has long hairs that can distinguish their prey from a predator. The cobalt blue tarantula has short hairs and she can't use them to sense the difference between predator and prey, so she just bites anything that moves lol.

Sort:  

😯
Wow...!!!
@sketch.and.jam
I can't even begin to imagine myself having pet tarantulas.
I'm not terrified of spiders so long as I see them first and abide by the social distancing rules...😁..!!
Amazing and fantastic photos.
:D

They are kind of boring pets, in the wild they sit in a hole and conserve energy only coming out a few times a year. I like to call them pet rocks. Very low maintenance.

They are beautiful...!!

I need a tarantula burrow camera to see them more often.

😊
That would be totally cool..!!
Do they make a tiny web camera. Endoscope 🤔

I bet they are out there i suspect it would only be cool video if there were baby tarantulas hatching otherwise all the video would look like a still photo of them sitting in one place. They live up to 30 years and its probably because they sit and do nothing most of the time.

Holy moly!! It is gorgeous!!

The blue is amazing when she actually decides to come out. Most of the time she is buried in her burrow. I might want to get a green bottle blue tarantula next, the only problem is they web up their enclosures so much you can't even see inside to enjoy their amazing colors.

Googled it... Pretty too! :))

Cool. Almost makes me want one. Almost. Interesting info about how they detect predators.

Easiest pet in the world. The hairy ones are really safe pets, short haired ones not so much.

what a beauty !😊

She's a bit mean and hides alot so its rare getting any good shots of her.

Wow, quite unusual pets you have!
But beauties they are :-) I didn't know, there were blue tarantulas. Such a pretty hairy fellow!

There are quite a few different colors of them out there. Some are even more blue than this.

I wonder, why they are blue. Does it camouflage them? Or is it to scare potential predators, so they don't get eaten?

Who knows why there are so many different colors of them. They hide out in holes to avoid predators. Their biggest enemy is wasps that lay eggs in their back. Maybe the blue colors warn big animals not to step on them accidentally.

I know women like that last sentence!

You might like my enclosure exercise at the end of my jazz interlude vid...

Stay well!

Funny thing I got these pets mainly for my fiance, she loves those spiders. I'll check out the jazz video.

Very nice photography!

Thanks i bet there are some interesting tarantulas in your area out in the wild.