A Giant Horsefly

in Fascinating Insects2 years ago

Hello Hivers of the fascinating insects community! How are you? It's Sunday again! Another week of February is coming to an end. Time is really fast. Anyways! I just want to share my macro shots of a horsefly that I saw on a corn at the farm.

PSX_20220213_195139.jpg

I was just looking at the fruits of our corn plant when I saw this horsefly. I easily noticed it on the corn leaf because it was quite big.

PSX_20220213_194922.jpg

I approached it slowly so that it would not leave and so that I could also take a picture of it. Its eyes are so amazing. It's like visors.

PSX_20220213_195024.jpg

I often see horsefly at the farm. But they are elusive that's why I can't get pictures of them. Good thing, this one is nice because it didn't flew away.

PSX_20220213_194829.jpg

I have also experienced being bite by a horsefly and it hurts. It's like a mosquito. So maybe that is why I usually see them clinging to animals like cow or carabao. Because they suck the blood of animals.

It's a nice looking insect.
Thank you for your time! A blessed Sunday to all!