Large Skipper

I'm not an entomologist, so I don't know the exact name of this moth species. I just convinced myself it was a large skipper (Ochlodes sylvanus). Let the experts determine the taxonomy.

It seems that entomologists are at odds with this species of moth. Wikipedia writing sources quoted from the Biodiversity Heritage Library.

It was long known as Ochlodes venatus, but this is a Far Eastern relative. There is still some dispute whether this species should be considered a distinct species or included in O. venatus as a subspecies. Under ICZN rules the specific name, originally proposed as Papilio sylvanus, is invalid as a homonym (of the butterfly now called Anthene sylvanus), but it has been conserved by an ICZN commission decision in 2000. [wikipedia]

I just have fun with photography, sometimes being able to expand my knowledge.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg


Photo by Irfan M Nur (@vannour)
Date Created: 2020-08-4
Location: Pidie, Aceh
Make: Canon EOS 7D
Lens: Canon EF100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 17 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
7

You need to stake more BEER (24 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)

Unfortunately, I can't help you with the identification of this little skipper either. It's not a species found in Europe. But your pictures are great!

Thank you for providing the information.
Maybe someday you come to our place to take pictures of even more of these little skipper species 🙂

I'd like that. Almost 30 years ago I was in Sumatra and travelled from Padang to Medan. A great journey with fantastic impressions. I definitely liked Sumatra better than the island Java. There were too many people on the way for me. If I should ever plan a trip to Sumatra again, I will contact you.

Greetings from Germany 🦋

I am glad to hear that. I will gladly welcome you

Thank you!

You're welcome

Thank you!

Very cool photos, sir! The last one is impressive! Fabulous details! 😎