You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sailing and Hiking On The Capricorn Coast

in Sports Talk Social2 years ago

Oh man, what a lovely boat and picturesque scenery. I was lucky enough to spend some time up there back in 2007. Australia is certainly an outdoor and sporting country and somewhere I loved living, although I can see how you'd want to live in SE Asia as well. That second last photo is my favourite, absolutely stunning.

Sort:  

Yo there @ablaze , you been to Mackay?? Cool!! Second last pic is my fave too - I been bombing all my friends with it back in Thailand hahaha. Having an awesome time but sure missing Thailand. Heading back in a couple weeks. BTW where are u based?

We stopped there on our tour up the coast from Brisbane. We were working and living in Brisbane and went on a tour up the coast, we did a 3 days stay on Fraser Island which was such an experience - you basically get a 4x4 and all your supplies and tents and head off into the wilderness of the island for 3 days and nights, we were a group of 7 Irish and 4 English and had a class time, then we continued up the coast to sail around the Whitsunday islands which was incredible too, we stopped in Mackay on the way North for lunch, but did not stay over.

I can see how you'd miss Thailand - the culture, food, people, cost of living, wildlife, everything is so chilled and really up my street... Those travlling days are well behind us now though, married with four kids now, so no time for backpacking anymore - we are based in my home city of Galway on Ireland's West Cost.

Hehe - my backpacking days are also long gone. I do like traveling though and try to get away as much as I can. I don't have kids so that makes a big difference. So anyway when I was 17 I spent a summer working in Clifden, Connemara (sorry if the spelling is wrong) - just up the road from Galway. What an amazing part of the world that is!! You are blessed to call that home. Fraser Island is awesome eh - I spent a lot of my childhood there on camping trips!

Those backpacking days were class weren't they, but certainly a young person's game!

You spent a summer in Clifden, no way, gorgeous part of the County you picked there. I'd say that some experience as a 17 year young lad!

Ya, Fraser island was a highlight, something cool about just driving around an island on a 4x4 with all your supplies on the roof fending for yourselves. I'm surprised the tyres held up with all the crates of beer we had 😅🤣😂

Hahaha - I like your style bro! Yeah in some ways I feel backpacking is not my thing now - I like the adventures but then want an aircon suite with a minibar at the end of the day...:) I just posted the 2nd part of my sailing trip in case u wanna see part 2...:) When I was 17 I hitch hiked around Europe for a year having all kinds of adventures - 3 months in Clifden was part of that adventure.

Dude, you must have some stories from that adventure! You could start a series talking about them and even better if you have some photos too.