You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: English Refereeing: Racism

pushing it a bit with this story.

I am not certain what you mean by this. It's a part series about the problems with English refereeing which includes racism as I am pointing out here. Although I should point out that the quality of refereeing would have been a good argument if the Premier League's refereeing quality wasn't as horrible as it is. The Premier League has referees that literally can't watch the VAR screen.

The examples I gave were of people who make the decision whether referees get promoted or not. Those are the people who were racist. A committee for inclusion where members made racist remarks in front of the remaining members and it was okay. If I start a committee dedicated to fighting animal abuse and include at least three members who kick a cat WHILE they're in the committee with the rest doing nothing, would you trust the committee to take care of your pet?

So, yes, racism is part of the system. Just because I showed 4 examples in official reports doesn't mean I don't have more. Quality is low as we saw this season literally every week so I don't know what I am "pushing" here. I am simply saying that in case any wondering why English refereeing is so bad then these factos, collectively, are the reason behind it. Racism was just the cherry on top.

Sort:  

I just don't see the racism as why there aren't any black referees around and wish there were as all sport needs top officials and skin color has nothing to do with it. The refereeing is sub standard for football and partially to blame is the ex players for not wanting to get involved. I do think the entire officiating system needs to be looked at as it is not acceptable as it stands currently. The VAR is a joke as this is meant to over ride the on field ref if something is called incorrectly and the ones behind the screen do not want to over rule the ref on field. The company behind the VAR is an ex referee and that is where the problem lies as it does smack of a buddy system in place.

If you can't see it then you can't see it I guess. The only thing missing is committee members saying "we're racist". As for the rest, yeah I agree.