Breaking down the Bracket

PXL_20240324_163233338.jpg


As I mentioned yesterday, the regional games have been determined and the bracket is set for the 2024 Division I softball championship. Also more commonly referred to as the "college world series". It's going to be an exciting couple weeks of action with games starting on Friday this week.

The fact that they use a double elimination format in the opening round of the tournament means that things drag on for a little bit. Okay, maybe drag isn't the best word for it, but it does go a little slowly. Then it speeds up before finally culminating in the championship game.

Today I am going to break down each of the regional quads and try to come up with the teams that I think will be facing each other in the super regionals.

I make no promises that I am going to do a good job at this, so don't use any of my picks for betting or anything like that.

In the first "quad" we have Texas, Northwestern, Siena, and SFU. This probably seems like a given, but I have a feeling that Texas is going to come out on top in that part of the bracket. They almost beat Oklahoma, so I think they have the chops to go a long way in the tournament.

In the second part of the bracket we have Texas A&M, Penn State, Texas State, and UAlbany. As much as I want to cheer for Penn State, I think we are going to see Texas A&M come out on top. I predict it will be Texas vs. Texas A&M in the super regional.

Next we have LSU, Jackson State, Califorina, and Southern Illinois. LSU is a good team, but I am going to put my pick in for California on this one. That leaves Stanford, CSFULL, Mississippi State, and St. Mary. My brain is telling me Stanford, but my gut is telling me Miss State. I'm going to go with my gut and spoil the California/California matchup.

That leg of the bracket is a big risk for me. Good thing I am not putting any money on it.

Next, we have Oklahoma State, N Colorado, Kentucky, and Michigan. Wow, that is a good quad. I'm going to go with Oklahoma State, but I think Michigan could give them a run for it. Their coach is the winningest coach in the Big 10 or something like that. She's been around forever and has a ton of experience.

One of them will go against Arkansas, Villanova, Arizona, or SEMO. I'm going with Arkansas here. So it will be Oklahoma State versus Arkansas (hopefully).

Finally, on this side of the bracket we have Louisiana, Princeton, Baylor, and Ole Miss. Definitely going with Ole Miss.

Florida, FLA Atalntic, South Alabama, and FGCU make up the final quad. I'm gonna go with Florida here. So Ole Miss vs. Florida.

Whew, you still with me? That's only half the bracket, we still have another half to go!

Tennessee, Dayton, Virginia, Miami (of Ohio). Tennessee is the clear pick here. They have been pretty solid all season.

Alabama, SE LA, Clemson, USC Upstate. As much as I hate to do it, I have to go with Alabama. There's just something about those southern girls, they know how to hit a ball!

Tennessee vs. Alabama.

Next Quad:

Georgia, UNCW, Charlotte, Liberty. I think Georgia is the pretty clear pick on this one.

UCLA, San Diego State, Virginia Tech, Grand Canyon. UCLA was ranked in the top 25 at the beginning of the season and I don't think they have fallen out since, so I am going to go with UCLA.

Georgia vs. UCLA

Missouri, Omaha, Washington, Indiana. Wow, this one is hard. Missouri is the ranked team, but Washington was in the top 25 at the beginning of the season as well. Plus, Indiana put on a good show in the Big Ten tournament. I'm going to go with Indiana here.

Duke, Utah, S Carolina, Morgan St. Ugh, another one that kills me, but I am going to have to go with Duke.

Indiana vs. Duke

Florida State, Chattanooga, Auburn, UCF. I'm going to go with UCF here. My wife was really impressed with them when we watched one of their games a while ago. I think they have the moxie to move forward.

Finally, Oklahoma, Boston U, Oregon, Cleveland State. I'd be a moron here not to go with Oklahoma.

UCF vs. Oklahoma.

There you have it. Check back in a week or so to see how right I was (or wasn't)!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced