NCAA Football/Basketball Round up: Working for the weekend

PXL_20231203_183013429.jpg


It's going to be a pretty busy weekend as far as sports are concerned. If you didn't read the preview of this post, you probably don't know it is college bowl season finally. I look forward to this time of year almost as much as the NCAA basketball tournament.

In addition to that, we have some basketball games this weekend, and the NFL is playing on Saturday and Sunday! It's an extravaganza!

Most importantly, tonight I get to watch the stream of my niece playing on her high school team. It will be interesting to see if her play time continues to increase given her past performance that has been nothing short of impressive.

First things first, let's talk about the NCAA basketball games that took place this past week. On Monday #10 Gonzaga hammered Mississippi Valley State 78 to 40.

On Tuesday there were only two games played. Both of them were not upsets with the ranked team handily defeating their opponent. The average spread was 19.5 points between the two games.

Wednesday on the other hand was a different story. Chicago State edged out #25 Northwestern 75 to 73, and UNLV beat #8 Creighton 79 to 64. That's a tough loss for the Bluejays after such a good start to their season.

Last night there were only two games played and both of them went to the ranked team again. That shouldn't be as much of a surprise as the season gets in full swing, but then again you never know!

Tonight we have one top 25 game and it should be a good one. #5 UConn is taking on #10 Gonzaga at Gonzaga. I wouldn't be shocked to see the Bulldogs come away with a win on this one. In fact, I might even put a bet on it. That UConn team is no joke though.

Saturday we have 16 top 25 games on the schedule. If you had to pick one or two out, I would suggest #2 Kansas at Indiana, that could be a good game. Either that or Kansas will hammer them.

Personally, I will be watching #6 Baylor at Michigan State. I hope the Spartans can get the kinks worked out and come away with a big win on this one. The potential is there even if the record doesn't reflect it. I'd love to see the Spartans hand the Bears their first loss of the season.

#13 Clemson vs. Memphis could be a good game. That Memphis team is really good and even though they aren't ranked they play like they are.

#1 Arizona versus #3 Purdue is probably the flagship game of the day. I might have to check that one out after the Michigan State game. Purdue is good, but I honestly don't think they are worth the press they have gotten the past couple of years. They are very inconsistent and that will be their downfall I think.

#9 North Carolina versus #14 Kentucky could be a good game as well. I might have to pull the old multiview on YouTube TV to catch that one.

Finally, that Alabama/#8 Creighton game could be good as well. I'm sorry, I know I told you I'd give you a couple games and that ended up being over five, but when the match ups are this good, you just can't compromise!

Finally, Sunday there are two games on the books. I don't expect either of them to be anything special.

As I said, college bowl games start this weekend with six of them being played tomorrow. We're talking 6-6 teams here, so I'm not sure it is even worth covering them. Just know that they will be on and you should check one or two out if you get the chance. If I had to pick only two to watch, it would be California at Texas Tech, and UCLA at Boise State.

Tomorrow night, I will most likely be watching the Lions game as Denver comes to Detroit for a must win game for the Lions. This game is so important. I hope they get their stuff sorted out. I really do.

Good luck keeping track of everything this weekend. Be sure to check back next week as I cover all the upsets, victories, and highlights!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

Sort:  

Life gets busy but there is also joy in playing.When two teams play and one of our teams wins, happiness emanates from within.

That is true!