"Proud" to be a Lions fan!

20161029_112907.jpg


The doubts were creeping in, I am not going to lie. As a lifelong Lions fan, I think we know all too well not to get our hopes up. There is a healthy amount of skepticism in any instance when we are watching the Lions.

Is this going to be the play they totally screw up? Will this be the game where they blow it? We have see it so many times in the past. It's only natural when the stakes are this high we would find ourselves expecting the worst.

Then a late game interception happens like the one we saw yesterday afternoon and you wonder why you ever doubted them.

Football.png


In case you missed it, The Detroit Lions beat the Tampa Bay Buccaneers yesterday to move on to the NFC Championship game. They face the San Francisco 49ers who on Saturday took down the Green Bay Packers. It sucks, because you want to believe in the Lions, you almost feel bad for every doubting them, but like I said, we know all too well how heartbreaking it can be to cheer for Detroit.

I actually feel like there were a couple of lucky calls for the Lions yesterday. That's usually not the case. Perhaps all those years of officials screwing over the Lions are finally coming back into balance.

Baltimore took it to Houston on Saturday and cemented their spot in the AFC Championship. Meanwhile last night, we saw the Bill have a heartbreaking loss to the Kansas City Chiefs. It's bad because personally, I think the Bills are the better team. I know there are a lot of Bills fans here on Hive and my heart truly goes out to you. I'm genuinely sorry.

How could would a Lions/Bills Superbowl have been? We could have been on the blockchain jawing each other on. Maybe next year. Whatever happens, both our teams are no joke. The Bills have already proven this isn't a one off for them and I think the Lions are in the process of doing the same.

Personally, I don't think Kansas City stands a chance against Baltimore. They are a dang good team. If they do make it. It's going to have to be some kind of miracle, or bias by the officials. Either that or Taylor Swift pulling some strings somewhere.

As for the Lions and the 49ers. Man, San Francisco is good. I don't want to bet against my home team, but I think it is going to be a tough game for them. Sure, we got a couple picks yesterday, but our defense feels really soft. As dynamic as our offense is, we give up far too many points on defense. It's our ability to allow other teams to still be in the game that scares me the most.

Campbell is doing something awesome in Detroit. I just hope he can build on it and give us many more years of things to be excited about in the "mitten state".


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

Sort:  

I was happy to see the Lions advance as well because as I have mentioned many times before I have a soft spot for them since they have had such hard times basically ever since I have been alive. The SF game is going to be a very tough one though.

Yeah, as much faith as I have in the Lions, they aren't going to be able to give an inch in this one. That soft defense could be their downfall. You gotten tighten things up and hold their scoring.

you have faith in the Lions? Really? I should learn from you. I am such a pessimist about almost all the teams that I support. Currently the Lions are a +275 underdog on a straight bet and +7 points on the spread.

They covered the spread, but then they did other typical Lion things. I won some money off them, but it would have been nice to see them go to the Superbowl. Hopefully they can take this as a lesson learned and work on their defense this summer.