Super Regionals and Selection Shows

45c18304-a046-47ce-99dd-168ddd07b5b6.jpg


Normally, it's not such a bad thing that we don't get good cellular service when we are camping. If the weather is nice, I'd rather be out enjoying nature anyway. However, when your niece is playing in the first game of the end of season tournament, and the game is streaming, having good Internet is a necessity.

Unfortunately, we didn't have great service this past weekend as we were camping up north in the middle of nowhere.

As you can see from the photo if you look past my reflection in the screen, we got the spinning wheel of death and we had to eventually give up on streaming the game. We still got to follow along with the play by play, we just didn't get to see any video.

Which is unfortunate, because word on the street is that my niece hit another home run in what ended up being a 8 to 5 victory for the Lady Shamrocks. With that win, they now move on in the tournament and tomorrow they face the number 1 team in the state (number 7 team in the nation). It's going to be a tough game for the ladies and they are going to need a lot of things to go right for them to pull out the victory.

Crazier things have happened though!

The Division II softball tournament continues to roll along and now that the field of 64 teams has been narrowed down to 16, things should be a bit easier to track. Super Regional play is a best of three format where as regional play was a double elimination format.

I found out last week that a lot of the DII tournament is not broadcast at all. I have been able to watch a handful of games via the individual conference streaming networks, but I have a feeling it is going to be hit or miss.

Honestly, I don't really care about the DII tournament like I did just a week ago.

First, Northwood and SVSU both got eliminated. I have personal ties to both those Universities, so now that they are out of the running, I don't care as much anymore.

Second, the DI selection show took place last night. That means DI softball is going to be on soon and the difference between DI and DII is quite staggering. It's just a whole different level. I'm looking forward to finding some new favorites to cheer for over the next couple of weeks.

I'm actually a little more excited for this tournament than I have been in the past. I have a feeling I will be watching quite a bit of it. I wish that softball would gain some of the notoriety that women's basketball over the past couple of seasons.

We just need to find the softball equivalent of Caitlin Clark and we will be good to go! Maybe it will be one of my nieces!

You never know!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced